View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release January 8, 2001
                        PRESIDENT CLINTON NAMES
                     TO THE COMMISSION OF FINE ARTS

     President Clinton today announced his intention to re-appoint

Barbaralee Diamonstein-Spielvogel as a member of the Commission of Fine Arts.

Ms. Barbaralee Diamonstein-Spielvogel, of New York City, is the author of eighteen books focused on the arts, architecture, design and public policy. She is the longest-term commissioner (1972 to 1987) to have served on the New York City Landmarks Preservation Commission. From 1987 to 1995, she was Chair of the New York Landmarks Preservation Foundation, and currently serves as the Chair of the Historic Landmarks Preservation Center. Ms. Diamonstein-Spielvogel was a member of the Art Commission of New York City from 1990 to 1994, is a founding Board Member of the New York Landmarks Conservancy (since 1973) and served as a Board Member of the Municipal Art Society for 1973 to 1983. In 1987 she was named to the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Council and in 1993 was named to the Archives Partnership Trust of New York State. She has been the curator of six museum exhibitions that have traveled nationally and is the interviewer/producer of numerous television series.

Ms. Diamonstein-Spielvogel earned a Ph. D. from New York University and received Honorary Doctorates from the Maryland Institute of Arts and Longwood College, Virginia. In 1994, she became the first woman to be honored with the Founder's Award of Pratt Institute.

The Commission of Fine Arts was established in 1910 to protect and enhance the appearance of the Capital. It is the only independent agency whose purpose is to render decisions on designs brought before it by the Federal and District of Columbia government agencies. The Commission also advises on designs for circulating a commemorative coinage and approves the siting and design of American memorials, here and abroad.