View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release November 27, 2000
                        IN THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA

     The President today declared a major disaster exists in the State

of Oklahoma and ordered Federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe storms and flooding on October 21-29, 2000.

The President's action makes Federal funding available to affected individuals in Caddo and Grady Counties, and local governments in the counties of Caddo, Carter, Comanche, Cotton, Grady, Jefferson, Kiowa, McClain, and Tillman.

Assistance can include disaster housing, grants, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Federal funding also is available to eligible local governments on a cost-sharing basis for the repair or replacement of public facilities damaged by the severe storms and flooding. Federal funding is also available on a cost share basis for hazard mitigation measures.

James L. Witt, Director of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), named Joe D. Bray as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected area.

The Agency said that damage surveys are continuing in other areas, and additional counties may be added after the assessments are completed.