View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release November 9, 2000



The President today announced his intention to appoint James C. Harris, M.D. and James W. Hubbard as members of the President's Committee on Mental Retardation.

James Harris, M.D., of Baltimore, Maryland, is a Professor of Psychiatry, Pediatrics, and Mental Hygiene and Director of Developmental Neuropsychiatry at the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine. Dr. Harris is the principal investigator of an R-01 Research Grant, funded by the National Institutes of Child Health and Human Development, to investigate pathways from genes to cognition and complex behavior. Dr. Harris directed the psychiatry program at the Kennedy Krieger Institute in Baltimore for 15 years and is the immediate past president of the Society of Professors of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, the national organization that represents academic child and adolescent psychiatry. He is listed in "Who's Who in the East" and in "Who's Who in Medicine and Healthcare," and was a participant in the White House Conference on Mental Health. He also is the Year 2000 recipient of the George Tarjan Award for outstanding leadership and continuous contributions in the field of mental retardation. He is the author of over 100 research articles, book chapters, and abstracts.

Dr. Harris received a B.A. from the University of Maryland and a M.D. from the George Washington University School of Medicine.

James W. Hubbard, of Bowie, Maryland, is a member of the Maryland House of Delegates. He is considered a leader on environmental issues, and has become a recognized advocate for equitable health care reform. Mr. Hubbard has recently retired as Assistant Sheriff (Lt. Col.) in Prince George's County, in charge of Police and Public Safety Training, Child Support Enforcement and Domestic Violence. He has continued to serve in a civilian role as the Director of the Sheriff Department's National Accreditation effort. Mr. Hubbard serves as a member of the Prince George's County Affairs Committee and serves as the delegation liaison to the Prince George's Board of Education. He also serves on the Governor's Juvenile Justice Advisory Council, the Washington Metropolitan Council of Governments' Air Quality Committee, and the National Conference of State Legislators. He serves as a member of the Public Health Advisory Panel for the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Mr. Hubbard is a co-chair and founding member of the National Caucus of Environmental Legislators. He is a member of the Maryland Advisory Council on Environmental Justice and a member of the Alumni Board of the University of Maryland, University College. Mr. Hubbard has received numerous local, state and national awards as a result of his outstanding volunteer work and community activism.

Mr. Hubbard received a B.A. in Business Administration/Management and an A.A. in Criminal Justice from the University of Maryland.

The President's Committee on Mental Retardation was created by Executive Order in May 1966. The Committee provides advice and assistance to the President and the Secretary of Health and Human Services, and publishes an annual report regarding the concerns of the mental retardation community.