View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release September 20, 2000


President Clinton Accepts German Media Prize

Today President Clinton accepted the "1999 Media Peace Prize," also known as the German Media Prize. The prize is awarded annually to a world leader who achieved press coverage of unusual importance. According to the Media Peace Prize jury, the award also recognizes the winner's contribution to a more peaceful world.

The previous winner was President Nelson Mandela. Other recent winners include King Hussein of Jordan, former President Boris Yeltsin, Chairman Yassir Arafat, and Prime Minister Yitzhak Rabin (posthumously).

The Media Peace Prize jury includes representatives of leading German media. Members of the jury presented the prize to the President in the Oval Office.

The following participated in the ceremony: The President; Samuel R. Berger; Cameron Munter; Mike and Patricia Cherry; Karlheinz and Nadja Koegel, Director of Media Prize; Stefan Aust, Editor, Der Spiegel; Mathias Doepfner, Editor, Die Welt; Patricia Riekel, Editor, Bunte; Wilm Herlyn, Editor, DPA German News Agency; Hans Mahr Editor, RTL TV; and Manfred Bissinger, Editor, Die Woche.

# # #