View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release June 27, 2000
           President Clinton Declares A Major Disaster Exists
                      In The State of North Dakota

The President today declared a major disaster exists in the State of North Dakota and ordered Federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe storms, flooding, and ground saturation beginning on June 12, 2000, and continuing.

The President's action makes Federal funding available to the counties of Benson, Bottineau, Cass, Eddy, Foster, Grand Forks, Griggs, Kidder, McHenry, McLean, Nelson, Pierce, Ramsey, Ransom, Sheridan, Traill, Walsh, Wells, as well as the Indian Reservations of the Spirit (Devil's) Lake Tribal Reservation and the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa.

Assistance can include disaster housing, grants, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Federal funding also is available to eligible local governments on a cost-sharing basis for the repair or replacement of public facilities damaged by the severe storms and flooding. Federal funding is also available on a cost share basis for hazard mitigation measures.

The Agency said that damage surveys are continuing in other areas, and additional areas may be added after the assessments are completed.