View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release June 27, 2000
           President Clinton Declares A Major Disaster Exists
                       In The State of Minnesota

The President today declared a major disaster exists in the State of Minnesota and ordered Federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe storms and flooding beginning on May 17, 2000, and continuing.

The President's action makes Federal funding available to affected local governments in a seven county area. The counties include Dodge, Faribault, Fillmore, Freeborn, Houston, Mower, and Winona.

Federal funding is available to eligible local governments on a cost-sharing basis for the repair or replacement of public facilities damaged by the severe storms and flooding. Federal funding is also available on a cost share basis for hazard mitigation measures.

The Agency said that damage surveys are continuing in other areas, and additional assistance and counties may be added after the assessments are completed.