View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release May 12, 2000
           President Clinton Declares A Major Disaster Exists
                        In The State of Missouri

The President today declared a major disaster exists in the State of Missouri and ordered Federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe thunderstorms and flash flooding on May 6-7, 2000.

The President's action makes Federal funding available to affected individuals in ten counties, including Franklin and Jefferson and the contiguous counties of Crawford, Gasconade, St. Charles, Ste. Genevieve, St. Francois, St. Louis County, Warren, and Washington.

Assistance can include disaster housing, grants, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Federal funding is also available on a cost share basis for hazard mitigation measures.

James L. Witt, Director of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), named Peter Martinasco as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected area.

The Agency said that damage surveys are continuing in other areas, and additional assistance and counties may be added after the assessments are completed.