View Header
                            THE WHITE HOUSE
                     (Office of the Press Secretary)
For Immediate Release                                         May 9,2000            
                           List of Attendees
                               May 9, 2000

Former Presidents
Honorable Jimmy Carter
Honorable Gerald Ford

Former Executive Branch Officials
Honorable James Baker -- Former Secretary of State; Former Secretary of the

Treasury; Partner, Baker & Botts
Honorable John Block -- Former Secretary of Agriculture;

President & CEO of Food Distributors International Honorable W. Michael Blumenthal -- Former Secretary of Treasury Honorable Erskine Bowles -- Former White House Chief of Staff;

Partner, Forstmann, Little & Co.
Honorable (Dr.) Zbigniew Brzezinski -- Former National Security Advisor;

Center for Strategic and International Studies Honorable Warren Christopher -- Former Secretary of State;

Senior Partner, O?Melveny & Meyers Admiral William J. Crowe, Jr. -- Former Chairman, Joint Chiefs of Staff;

Senior Advisor, Global Options, LLC Honorable Ken Duberstein -- Former White House Chief of Staff Honorable Michael Espy -- Former Secretary of Agriculture Honorable Barbara H. Franklin -- Former Secretary of Commerce;

President & CEO of Barbara Franklin Enterprises Honorable (Gen.) Alexander M. Haig -- Former Secretary of State Honorable Carla Anderson Hills -- Former U.S. Trade Representative Honorable Mickey Kantor, Former Secretary of Commerce; Former U.S. Trade

Honorable (Dr.) Henry A. Kissinger -- Former Secretary of State;

Chairman, Kissinger Associates, Inc. Honorable John Knebel - Former Secretary of Agriculture Honorable Anthony Lake -- Former National Security Council Advisor;

     Distinguished Professor in the Practice of Diplomacy, Georgetown

Honorable William McFarlane -- Former National Security Advisor Honorable Robert McNamara -- Former Secretary of Defense Honorable G. William Miller -- Former Secretary of the Treasury Honorable Leon E. Panetta -- Former White House Chief of Staff;

Leon and Sylvia Panetta Institute for Public Policy Honorable James R. Schlesinger -- Former Secretary of Defense;

Senior Advisor, Lehman Brothers
Honorable (Lieutenant General - Retired) Brent Scowcroft -- Former

National Security Advisor; President, The Scowcroft Group Honorable Samuel K. Skinner -- Former White House Chief of Staff;

Co-chair of Hopkins & Sutter
Honorable Robert S. Strauss -- Former U.S. Trade Representative;

Akin, Gump, Strauss, Hauer & Feld, LLP Honorable C. William Verity -- Former Secretary of Commerce Former U.S. Ambassadors to China
Honorable Arthur W. Hummel -- Former U.S. Ambassador to China Honorable James R. Lilley - Former U.S. Ambassador to China Honorable Stapelton Roy - Former U.S. Ambassador to China;

Assistant Secretary for Intelligence and Research Honorable James Sasser - Former U.S. Ambassador to China

Current Cabinet Officials
Secretary Madeleine Albright - Secretary of State Secretary Lawrence H. Summers - Secretary of the Treasury Secretary William Cohen -- Secretary of Defense Secretary Daniel R. Glickman -- Secretary of Agriculture Secretary William M. Daley -- Secretary of Commerce Secretary Donna E. Shalala -- Secretary of Health and Human Services Ambassador Charlene Barshefsky -- U.S. Trade Representative Dr. Martin Baily -- Chairman, Council of Economic Advisors

State and Local Elected Officials
Honorable Jesse Ventura, Governor of Minnesota Honorable Gene F. Eriquez - Mayor of the City of Danbury, Connecticut Honorable Ronald Kirk - Mayor of the City of Dallas, Texas Honorable Daniel P. Malloy - Mayor of the City of Stamford, Connecticut Honorable Jim Costa -- State Senator, State of California Honorable Wayne K. Curry -- County Executive, Prince George?s County, Maryland Honorable Lars A. Hafner - State Representative, State of Florida Honorable Robert Henriquez -- State Representative, State of Florida Honorable Bradley Owen -- Lieutenant Governor, State of Washington

Former Members of Congress and Former Governors Senator Mike Mansfield, Former Senate Majority Leader Senator Claiborne Pell
Senator Charles Percy
Representative Thomas Foley, Former Speaker of the House of

Representative Bob Michel, Former House Minority Leader Representative Barber Conable
Representative Eligio (Kika) de la Garza Representative Bill Frenzel
Representative Sam Gibbons
Representative Lee Hamilton
Representative James Jones
Representative Pat Schroeder
Representative Charles Vanik
Honorable Carroll A. Campbell -- Former Governor of South Carolina;

President & CEO, American Council of Life Insurance Honorable Ann Richards - Former Governor of Texas

Nobel Laureates and Academics
Mr. Robert W. Fogel -- Nobel Laureate; Professor, University of Chicago Mr. Lawrence Klein -- Nobel Laureate; Benjamin Franklin Professor of

Economic Emeritus, University of Pennsylvania Dr. Robert Merton -- Nobel Laureate
Honorable (Dr.) Michael H. Armacost -- President, The Brookings

Dr. Thomas Christensen -- Professor of Political Science,

Massachusetts Institute of Technology Dr. Merle Goldman -- Professor of Chinese History, Boston University Dr. Harry Harding -- Dean, Elliot School of International Affairs,

George Washington University
Dr. David M. Lampton -- Paul H. Nitze School of Advanced International

Studies, Johns Hopkins University
Dr. Nicholas Lardy -- Senior Fellow, The Brookings Institution Dr. Barry Naughton -- University of California, San Diego Dr. Jonathan Pollack -- Rand Corporation Dr. David Shambaugh - George Washington University Dr. Michael Swain - Rand Corporation

Business Leaders
Mr. Philip M. Condit -- Chairman & CEO, Boeing Company Mr. Thomas J. Donohue -- President & CEO, U.S. Chamber of Commerce Mr. David James Drury -- CEO, Principal Mutual Life Insurance Mr. Robert A. Kapp -- President, U.S.-China Business Council Mr. Samuel L. Maury -- President, The Business Roundtable Mr. Ernest S. Micek -- Chairman & CEO, Cargill Incorporated Ms. Sally Painter -- Business Coalition for U.S.- China Trade Mr. Barry Rogstad -- President, American Business Conference Mr. Larry T. Rowland -- President & CEO, Lincoln Re Mr. Seymour Sternberg -- Chairman, President & CEO, New York Life Honorable Jack Valenti -- President & CEO, Motion Picture Association of

Mr. Sanford I. Weill -- Chairman & CEO, Citigroup, Inc.

Religious Leaders
Reverend Richard Cain -- Former President, Claremont Seminary Rabbi Arthur Schneier -- President, Appeal of Conscience Foundation Mr. Edward W. Stowe -- Friends Committee on National Legislation Reverend Daniel Baida Su -- China Outreach Ministries Honorable Andrew Young -- President, National Council of Churches*

for identification purposes only.

Honored Guests
Admiral Ming E. Chang -- U.S. Navy, Retired Mr. Alv From, President, Democratic Leadership Council General David C. Jones -- U.S. Air Force, Retired Honorable Daniel K. Tarullo -- Professor of Law, Georgetown University Mr. Robert Cassidy, Former Assistant U.S. Trade Representative for China