View Header


                     Office of the Press Secretary
                          (New York, New York)
For Immediate Release                                     April 24, 2000

     The President today announced his intent to appoint Dr. James

Harold French, Jr. and Dr. Arthur Wesley Nienhuis to serve as Members of the National Cancer Advisory Board.

Dr. James Harold French, Jr., of Great Falls, Virginia, is a Clinical Assistant Professor of Plastic Surgery at Georgetown University, Co-Director of the Center for Facial Rehabilitation and former Chief of Plastic Surgery at Fairfax Hospital in Falls Church, Virginia. Dr. French is a Vanderbilt trained plastic and reconstructive surgeon and formerly Assistant Professor at The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. Previously, he practiced as a plastic surgical consultant to hospitals in Peru and Haiti, and as Director of the Children's Facial Rehabilitation Center in Baltimore, Maryland. He has worked as the Chief of Plastic Surgery of Loch Raven Veteran Administration Hospital, as Co-Director of the Baltimore Regional Burn Center, and as Chief of Plastic Surgery at the Baltimore City Hospitals. Dr. French is a member of many professional associations and a contributor of articles and chapters to numerous medical publications.

Dr. French received a B.A. degree from the University of Arkansas and a M.D. degree from the Louisiana State University School of Medicine.

Dr. Arthur Wesley Nienhuis, of Memphis, Tennessee, is currently the Director of St. Jude Children's Research Hospital and St. Jude Professor of Pediatrics and Medicine, at the University of Tennessee School of Medicine. From 1977 to 1993, he was Chief of the Clinical Hematology Branch, and from 1976 to 1993, he served as Deputy Clinical Director at the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute in Bethesda, Maryland. Dr. Nienhuis was elected Vice-President of the American Society of Hematology in 1992 and President in 1993 and 1994. He is the author of numerous articles on genetic therapy of hematological diseases and the regulation of hematopoiesis and hemoglobin synthesis.

Dr. Nienhuis received his M.D. degree from the University of California at Los Angeles.

The members of the National Cancer Advisory Board provide advice to the President, Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services, and the Director of the National Cancer Institute, with respect to the activities and policies carried out by the Institute. The Board consists of eighteen members appointed by the President for six-year terms.