View Header


Office of Science and Technology Policy

For Immediate Release April 11, 2000


President Clinton today named 60 young researchers as recipients of the fourth annual Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), the highest honor bestowed by the United States government on young professionals at the outset of their independent research careers. The researchers will receive their awards tomorrow in a White House ceremony.

These awards, established by President Clinton in February 1996, embody the high priority the Administration places on producing outstanding scientists and engineers ready to contribute to all sectors of the economy. Eight Federal departments and agencies join together annually to nominate the most meritorious young scientists and engineers who will broadly advance the science and technology that will be of the greatest benefit to fulfilling the agencies' missions.

"We honor these outstanding young scientists and engineers for their research contributions, for their promise, and for their commitment to broader societal goals," President Clinton said. "They will do much to shape our society and advance our national interests in the twenty-first century."

The young scientists and engineers receive up to a five-year research grant to further their study in support of critical government missions. The Federal agencies involved are: the Departments of Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, Energy, Health and Human Services, Veterans Affairs, the National Aeronautics and Space Administration, and the National Science Foundation.

The recipients are:

Department of Agriculture Dr. Ann M. Donoghue, Livestock & Poultry Sciences Institute, Beltsville, MD Dr. Emile S. Gardiner, U.S. Forest Service Southern Research Station Dr. Smita Mohanty, SUNY at Stony Brook

Department of Commerce Dr. Pamela M. Chu, National Institute of Standards and Technology Dr. John G. W. Kelley, NOAA/National Ocean Service Dr. Nathan J. Mantua, University of Washington Dr. Eric L. Shirley, National Institute of Standards and Technology

Department of Defense Dr. Jeffrey Todd Borggaard, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University Dr. Gert Cauwenberghs, Johns Hopkins University Dr. Aaron W. Harper, Texas A&M University Dr. Daphne Koller, Stanford University Dr. Kathryn A. Moler, Stanford University Dr. Kimberly M. Wasserman, University of Michigan

Department of Energy Dr. Xian Chen, Los Alamos National Laboratory Dr. Ken R. Czerwinski, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Dr. David M. Ford, Texas A&M University Dr. Kenneth M. Kemner, Argonne National Laboratory Dr. John F. Mitchell, Argonne National Laboratory Dr. Lynne E. Parker, Oak Ridge National Laboratory Dr. Gennady Shvets, Princeton University Plasma Physics Laboratory

Department of Veterans Affairs Dr. Mary C. Nakamura, Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Center, San Francisco Dr. Peter A. Ubel, Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Center, Philadelphia

National Aeronautics and Space Administration Dr. Waleed Abdalati, Goddard Space Flight Center Dr. Gregory P. Asner, University of Colorado Dr. Michael Loewenberg, Yale University School of Medicine Dr. Fiona Anne Harrison, California Institute of Technology Dr. Preete Verghese, Smith Kettewell Eye Research Institute, San Francisco

National Institutes of Health, Department of Health and Human Services Dr. Linda A. Barlow, University of Denver Dr. Annelise E. Barron, Northwestern University Dr. Carolyn Bertozzi, University of California, Berkeley Dr. Janean Holden, University of Illinois at Chicago Dr. Judith A. James, Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation, Oklahoma City Dr. Cecilia B. Moens, Fred Huchinson Cancer Research Center, Seattle Dr. Marina A. Picciotto, Yale University School of Medicine Dr. Geraldine C. Seydoux, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine Dr. Ida Sim, University of California, San Francisco Dr. Ronald Marc Summers, Warren Grant Magnuson Clinical Center, NIH Dr. David William Russell, University of Washington Dr. Weidong Wang, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, MD Dr. Xiaoquin Wang, Johns Hopkins University

National Science Foundation Dr. Linnea M. Avallone, University of Colorado Dr. John Chapin, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Dr. Donald DeVoe, University of Maryland, College Park Dr. Brenda L. Dingus, University of Wisconsin Dr. Dennis E. Discher, University of Pennsylvania Dr. Richard J. Elston, University of Florida Dr. Steven C. George, University of California, Irvine Dr. Lori L. Graham, University of Virginia Dr. Victoria L. Interrante, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities Dr. Predrag Jelenkovic, Columbia University Dr. Yishi Jin, University of California, Santa Cruz Dr. Felicia Keesing, Siena College Dr. Steven D. Levitt, University of Chicago Dr. Todd L. Lowary, Ohio State University Dr. Ken Ono, Pennsylvania State University, University Park Dr. Fenjosky Pena-Mora, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Dr. Sanjay Raman, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University Dr. Richard W. Roberts, California Institute of Technology Dr. Jeffrey S. Urbach, Georgetown University Dr. Zhuomin Zhang, University of Florida