View Header


                     Office of the Press Secretary
                          (New York, New York)
For Immediate Release                                     March 30, 2000

     The President today announced his intent to nominate Jane Lubchenco

and Warren M. Washington to serve as members of the National Science Board (NSB).

Ms. Jane Lubchenco, of Corvallis, Oregon, is the Wayne and Gladys Valley Professor of Marine Biology and distinguished professor at Oregon State University (OSU). She has been on the faculty at OSU since 1977. Previously, she was an assistant professor at Harvard University. Ms. Lubchenco has also been a research associate at the Smithsonian Institution since 1978. Ms. Lubchenco has been a member of the National Academy of Sciences since 1988, a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences since 1993, and a member of the American Philosophical Society since 1990. She has been a MacArthur Fellow and a Pew Scholar in conservation and the environment and served as President of the American Association for the Advancement of Science in 1996. Ms. Lubchenco received her B.A. from Colorado College, her M.S. from the University of Washington, and her Ph.D. from Harvard University.

Mr. Warren M. Washington, of Boulder, Colorado is a senior scientist at the National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR) in Boulder, Colorado. Since 1963, he has been conducting research at NCAR on computer modeling of the climate system. Mr. Washington has served NCAR in several capacities: Since 1995, Mr. Washington has been the Section Head of the Climate Change Research Section in the Climate and Global Dynamics Division (CGD), and from June 1987 to May 1995, he was the Director of CGD. Mr. Washington was President of the American Meteorological Society (AMS) in 1994. From 1991 to 1995, Mr. Washington was a member of the Board of Directors of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). From 1991 to 1995, Mr. Washington was President of the Black Environmental Science Trust, a non-profit effort to increase the number of African Americans in environmental sciences. Mr. Washington is a fellow of the AAAS and AMS and a Distinguished Alumnus of Pennsylvania State University and Oregon State University. Mr. Washington received his B.S. and M.S. from Oregon State University and his Ph.D. from Pennsylvania State University.

The National Science Board (NSB) was established by the National Science Foundation Act of 1950, as amended (42 U.S.C. 1863). In accordance with the Act, the NSB shall establish the policies of the Foundation within the framework of applicable policies as set forth by the President and Congress.