View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release February 23, 2000


The President announced today his intent to nominate Nina V. Fedoroff and Diana S. Natalicio to serve as members of the National Science Board (NSB).

Ms. Nina V. Fedoroff, of State College, Pennsylvania, is the Willaman Professor of Life Sciences and serves as Director of the Biotechnology Institute and the Life Science Consortium at Pennsylvania State University. From 1978 to 1995, Ms. Fedoroff was a Staff Scientist in the Embryology Department of the Carnegie Institution of Washington and was Assistant Professor, Associate Professor, and full Professor in the Biology Department of John Hopkins University. Ms. Fedoroff was elected to the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) in 1990 and served on the NAS Council from 1991 to 1994. She is also a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Ms. Fedoroff has received numerous awards for her scientific achievements, including a National Institutes of Health Merit Award and the Howard Taylor Ricketts Award in 1990. She was named an Outstanding Contemporary Woman Scientist by the New York Academy of Sciences in 1992 and was chosen as one of its 50 most outstanding alumni by the Damon Runyan-Walter Winchel Foundation in 1996. Ms. Fedoroff received her B.S. from Syracuse University and her Ph.D. from Rockefeller University.

Ms. Diana S. Natalicio, of El Paso, Texas, has as served as President at the University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP) since 1988. Previously, Ms. Natalicio served UTEP in the positions of Vice President for Academic Affairs, Dean of the College of Liberal Arts, and Chairman of the Modern Languages Department. Since 1978, Ms. Natalicio has been Professor of Languages and Linguistics. Ms. Natalicio has been especially active in minority issues in science and engineering education and during her tenure as President, UTEP has been a leader in providing more Mexican-American graduates than any other university in the United States. Ms. Natalicio served as Vice-Chairman of the NSB during her first term. Dr. Natalicio serves or has served on numerous boards and commissions, including the NASA Advisory Council, U.S.-Mexico Commission for Education and Cultural Exchange, "America Reads Challenge" Steering Committee, the President's Committee on the Arts and the Humanities, the White House Initiative on Educational Excellence for Hispanic Americans, and the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas. Ms. Natalicio received her B.S. from St. Louis University, her M.A. from University of Texas at Austin, and her Ph.D. in linguistics from the University of Texas at Austin.

The National Science Board (NSB) was established by the National Science Foundation Act of 1950, as amended (42 U.S.C. 1863). In accordance with the Act, the NSB shall establish the policies of the Foundation within the framework of applicable policies as set forth by the President and Congress.