View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release November 29, 1999
                   PRESIDENT CLINTON SIGNS H.R. 3194, 

                            The Rose Garden

                           November 29, 1999

Today, President Clinton will sign into law H.R. 3194, "The Consolidated Appropriations Act for Fiscal Year 2000," a bill that provides funding for education, public safety, the environment international leadership, health care and other priorities.

In his remarks, the President will emphasize the important victory this budget marks for the American people -- a budget that protects fiscal discipline while meeting America's priorities and investing in the nation's future. The President will highlight the significant progress this hard-won budget represents notably on education, safe neighborhoods, the environment, economic development, health care for the disabled, and global leadership.

President Clinton will challenge Congress to move forward on the many important things still to be done: including passing common-sense gun legislation; passing a strong Patients' Bill of Rights; expanding hate crimes legislation; strengthening Social Security; modernizing Medicare, including a voluntary prescription drug benefit; and raising the minimum wage.

The President will be joined at the signing ceremony by Members of Congress including:

Senator Kent Conrad (D-ND); Senator Pete Domenici (R-NM); Senator Byron Dorgan (D-ND); Senator Patrick Leahy (D-VT); Senator Paul Sarbanes (D-MD); Senator Arlen Spector (R-PA); Representative Ken Bentsen (D-TX); Representative Elijah Cummings (D-MD); Representative Jay Dickey (R-AR); Representative Norman Dicks (D-WA); Representative Eliot Engel (D-NY); Representative Carolyn Kilpatrick (D-MI); Representative Carolyn Maloney (D-NY); Representative Ralph Regula (R-OH); Representative Martin Sabo (D-MN); Representative Ellen Tauscher (D-CA); and Representative Albert Wynn (D-MD).

A number of Cabinet and Administration officials will also join the President, including: Treasury Secretary Lawrence Summers, Attorney General Janet Reno, Interior Secretary Bruce Babbitt, Health and Human Services Secretary Donna Shalala, Education Secretary Richard Riley, EPA Administrator Carol Browner, and SBA Administrator Aida Alvarez.

In addition to teachers and police officers from the Virginia/Maryland/DC Metro region, representatives from education, environmental, health care, business, disability, and law enforcement organizations will be in attendance.