View Header


Office of the Vice President

For Immediate Release September 21, 1999


(Long Island, NY)

Today, I notified officials in both South Carolina and Delaware that their states have been declared major disaster areas. Today's declaration will bring much needed resources to those counties that were damaged. In South Carolina, these counties include Beaufort, Berkeley, Charleston, Colleton, Georgetown, Horry, Jasper, and Marion Counties. In Delaware, federal resources will be provided to New Castle County.

I also want to assure the people of South Carolina and Delaware that we will do everything we can to see that their state receives all available assistance for as long as is necessary. This is in addition to the federal funds that are already being provided to North Carolina, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania and Virginia.

This has been a difficult time for many who are still struggling to rebuild their lives and communities in the aftermath of Hurricane Floyd. I know that the country joins me in offering our prayers of support to the families of North Carolina, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Virginia, South Carolina, Delaware and all who have been affected by this storm -- especially those who lost loved ones. We are keeping you in our hearts and prayers.