View Header

The White House

Office of the Press Secratary

For Immediate Release September 18, 1999
                  Hall A, Washington Convention Center
                           September 18, 1999

Tonight, President Clinton will address the Congressional Black Caucus Foundation (CBC) Awards Dinner. This year marks the 29th anniversary of the CBC's Annual Legislative Conference. The theme of this year's conference is "Tools for 2000: Planning Our Work -- Working Our Plan."

The Congressional Black Caucus was officially founded in 1971 to address the legislative concerns of African American and other minority citizens. In the 106th Congress, there are 38 members of the CBC. The group is chaired by Rep. James Clyburn (D-S.C.). Three current members -- Rep. John Conyers (D-Mich.), Rep. William Clay (D-Mo.) and Rep. Charles Rangel (D-N.Y.) -- were among the founders of the CBC.

The President has attended the Congressional Black Caucus Foundation Awards Dinner every year since 1992, first addressing the group as a presidential candidate.

The CBC will present awards to four honorees: Alvin Brown, Executive Director of the Community Empowerment Board, Office of the Vice President, will receive the Congressional Black Caucus Chairman's Award; Julius L. Chambers, Chancellor, North Carolina Central University, will receive the Adam Clayton Powell Award for Legislative and Legal Perfection; Rear Admiral Evelyn J. Fields, Director of the Office of National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Corps. Operations and Director of the NOAA Commissioned Officer Corps., will receive the Ralph M. Metcalfe Health, Medicine and Science Award; and Tom Joyner, Host and Producer of the "Tom Joyner Morning Show," will receive the Mickey Leland Humanitarian/Religious Award.

First Lady Hillary Rodham Clinton will accompany the President to the event. Vice President Gore will also attend the event, and address the dinner.

Labor Secretary Alexis Herman, Commerce Secretary William Daley and Veteran's Affairs Secretary Togo West, Jr. are expected to attend. The audience of approximately 3,500, will also include former Senator Carol Mosley-Braun, members of the CBC and other members of Congress, and members of the political, business and civil rights communities.

Order of Events Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-Texas), CBC First Vice-chair, makes remarks Rep. Eva M. Clayton (D-N.C.) makes remarks Rep. Melvin Watt (D-N.C.) and Rep. Gregory Meek present award to Julius L. Chambers Rep. Johnson and Rep. Julia Carson (D-Ind.) present award to Tom Joyner Rep. Julian C. Dixon (D-Calif.) and Rep. Carolyn C. Kilpatrick (D-Mich.) present award to Rear Admiral Evelyn J. Fields Rep. James Clyburn (D-S.C.), CBC Chair, presents award to Alvin Brown Rep. Johnson introduces Vice President Gore. Vice President Gore makes remarks. Rep. Clyburn introduces President Clinton. President Clinton makes remarks.