View Header


Office of the Vice President

For Immediate Release August 6, 1999

Washington, DC -- Vice President Gore announced today that he has named Elizabeth Echols to the new post of Executive Director of his Electronic Commerce Working Group.

As Executive Director, Ms. Echols will assist the Electronic Commerce Working Group by coordinating the development and implementation of Administration policy on electronic commerce issues, including encouraging the deployment of advanced telecommunications for all Americans, ensuring effective consumer protection online, and promoting a global framework for electronic commerce. The newly created position of Executive Director will provide increased coordination of the twelve federal agencies involved in this initiative.

"I am very pleased that Elizabeth has agreed to join our team as Executive Director of the Electronic Commerce Working Group," Vice President Gore said. "Elizabeth's strong leadership, policy expertise, and excellent management skills will prove critical as we shape the Administration's policy on these issues for the 21st century."

Ms. Echols has served as Senior Advisor to Commerce Secretary Daley on telecommunications and information technology issues since the fall of last year. She advised Secretary Daley on a wide range of issues, including cable, broadcast, satellite, wireless, Internet, and e-commerce. Ms. Echols also served as Senior Advisor to the Assistant Secretary of Commerce for Communications and Information from 1995 to 1998.

Prior to joining the Clinton Administration, Ms. Echols was associated with the Washington, D.C. law firm of Steptoe & Johnson. She previously worked at the investment-banking firm of Morgan Stanley & Co. Incorporated, in their New York and Tokyo offices. Ms. Echols received her J.D. degree from Stanford Law School where she served as Note Editor of the Stanford Law Review. She received her B.A. degree in Economics and Political Science with honors from Yale University.

The Electronic Commerce Working Group is currently chaired by David Beier, Chief Domestic Policy Advisor for the Vice President. Sally Katzen, Counselor to the Director, OMB, serves as Vice-Chair of the Electronic Commerce Working Group.