View Header


                     Office of the Press Secretary
                         (Aboard Air Force One)
For Immediate Release                                       May 20, 1999


The President today announced his intention to appoint James W. Evatt, John H. Mattingly, Dennis J. Picard, Michael T. Smith, and Lawrence A. Weinbach to the National Security Telecommunications Advisory Committee:

Mr. James W. Evatt, of Newport Beach, California, is President of Information and Communications Systems, one of three major business units of Boeing Information, Space & Defense Systems. He is responsible for the following product lines: satellites, Airborne Warning and Control Systems (AWACS), airborne lasers, aircraft information systems, and strategic missiles. Prior to this assignment, Mr. Evatt was Boeing Defense and Space Group Executive Vice President for Business Development, responsible for developing and implementing a growth strategy for the defense and space operations of The Boeing Company. He was also Vice President of the Business Development Organization, where he was responsible for finding and developing business opportunities for Defense and Space.

Mr. John H. Mattingly, of Fairfax Station, Virginia, is President of COMSAT Satellite Services, an organization created to manage COMSAT's international satellite services. In addition, Mr. Mattingly oversees COMSAT's current efforts to restructure INTELSAT and privatize Inmarsat and leads COMSAT's development of advanced services and technology to meet the growing demand for high-speed data and multimedia communications via satellite. Before becoming President of COMSAT Satellite Services, Mr. Mattingly held a number of key management positions in COMSAT. Prior to joining COMSAT, Mr. Mattingly served in several managerial and executive positions at OrionNet, Inc., GTE Spacenet, and CONTEL ASC.

Mr. Dennis J. Picard, of Concord, Massachusetts, is Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer of Raytheon Company, Lexington, Massachusetts. He assumed this position on March 1, 1991, after serving as the company's President since August 1989. Mr. Picard was elected a member of Raytheon's Board of Directors in January 1989. He has held numerous other positions with Raytheon, ranging from General Manager of the Missile Systems Division - Raytheon's largest unit - in 1983, to Senior Vice President of Raytheon - a position he earned in 1985.

Mr. Michael T. Smith, of Marina Del Rey, California, is Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer of Hughes Electronics Corporation. Previously, he had served as Vice Chairman of Hughes Electronic Corporation and Chairman of Hughes Aircraft Company. Mr. Smith joined Hughes Electronics in 1985, the year the company was formed, as Senior Vice President of Finance, after spending nearly 20 years with General Motors in a variety of financial management positions. Hughes Electronics was formed after General Motors acquired Hughes Aircraft Company. Mr. Smith serves on several corporate boards and councils.

Mr. Lawrence A. Weinbach, of New York, New York, is Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer of Unisys Corporation. Mr. Weinbach joined Unisys Corporation in 1997, after completing his second four-year term as Managing partner and Chief Executive of Andersen Worldwide, a global management and technology-consulting firm. Mr. Weinbach held a number of leadership positions at Andersen Worldwide from 1961 until his departure in 1997. Mr. Weinbach has taken an active role over the years on the boards of numerous "not-for-profit" organizations.

The NSTAC provides the President with information and advice from the industry's perspective regarding specific measures to maintain, protect and enhance the nation's telecommunications resources that support national security and emergency preparedness capabilities. The Committee addresses telecommunications issues throughout the year and periodically reports directly to the President and also to the Secretary of Defense, in his capacity as Executive Agent for the National Communications System.