View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release April 14, 1999
                    TO THE COMMISSION ON FINE ARTS

The President today announced his intention to appoint Carolyn S. Brody, J. Carter Brown, Eden Donohue Rafshoon and Harry G. Robinson III to the Commission on Fine Arts.

Ms. Carolyn S. Brody, of Washington, D.C., was an Advisor to the World Bank Pension Investment Division on real estate fund investing from 1995 to 1998. Previously, she was a real estate investment banker with the First Boston Corporation, and was also associated with Corporate Property Investors, the Bank of Boston, and the Council for Northeast Economic Action. Ms. Brody currently serves on numerous boards, including the National Building Museum, the Phillips Collection, the Guild Hall Museum and the Alvin Ailey Dance Company. She received a B.S. from State University of New York at Buffalo, a Master of City Planning from the University of Pennsylvania and an MBA from Harvard University.

Mr. J. Carter Brown, of Washington, D.C., is Director Emeritus of the National Gallery of Art, having served as its Director from 1969 to 1992. He is also Chair and a founding member of the jury of the Pritzker Architecture Prize and Chair of OVATION- The Arts Network. Mr. Brown is a Trustee of the American Academy in Rome, the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, the National Geographic Society and the World Monuments Fund. He is also Treasurer of the White House Historical Association and a member of several boards at Brown University and numerous other boards dealing with the arts, architecture and the humanities. Mr. Brown received a B.A and M.B.A. from Harvard University, an M.A. from N.Y.U., studied abroad in Italy, France and The Netherlands and has received fifteen honorary degrees.

Ms. Eden Donohue Rafshoon, of Washington, D.C., was a designer with Eden Donohue Interiors from 1978 to 1992. She was a production design consultant on Turner Network Television films, and the International Chair of the International Sculpture Conference and Exhibition in 1980. Ms. Rafshoon was a Partner with Donohue and Travis and a Partner with Design Ampersand, both located in Atlanta, Georgia. She serves on the boards of Friends of Art and Preservation in Embassies, the Shakespeare Theatre, the Advisory Board, and the Women's Commission for Refugee Women and Children. Ms. Rafshoon received a B.A. from Hollins College and a M.A. from the George Washington University.

Mr. Harry G. Robinson III, of Washington, D.C., is Vice President for Administration for Howard University. From 1979 to 1995, he served as Dean and Professor of Urban Design, the Howard University School of Architecture and Planning, and from 1995 to 1997 was Interim Vice President for Academic Affairs at Howard. Mr. Robinson has also been an administrator/faculty member at Morgan State University, and served as Chair of their Department of City and Regional Planning. He is a Trustee of Cooper-Hewitt, National Museum of Design at the Smithsonian Institution; a Director of the Vietnam Veterans Memorial Fund; and a Member of the Board of Professional Responsibility, District of Columbia Court of Appeals. Mr. Robinson has also served as president of two national architectural organizations: the National Architectural Accrediting Board and the National Council of Architectural Registration Board, in addition to serving as Trustee and Secretary of the National Building Museum. He received his Bachelor of Architecture and his Master of City Planning from Howard University, and the Master of City Planning in Urban Design degree from Harvard University Graduate School of Design. He served in Vietnam in 1967 as a 2nd Lieutenant in the U.S. Army and was awarded the Bronze Star and Purple Heart medals.

The Commission on Fine Arts was established in 1910 to protect and enhance the appearance of the Capitol. It is the only independent agency whose purpose is to render decisions on designs brought before it by the Federal and District of Columbia government agencies. The Commission also advises on designs for circulating and commemorative coinage and approves the siting and design of American memorials, here and abroad.