View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release December 8, 1998

The President today announced his intent to appoint six new members to the National Cancer Advisory Board.

Dr. Elmer Huerta, of Columbia, Maryland, has served as a Cancer Prevention Specialist at the Washington Cancer Institute at the Washington Hospital Center since 1994. Additionally, he has worked extensively in broadcasting as a host and producer of health radio and television programs, and as a medical correspondent. Dr. Huerta is the founder and President of Prevencion, Inc., a not-for-profit company that reaches 75% of the Latino population in the United States through its daily radio and television programs. From 1992-1994 he was a Cancer Prevention Fellow at the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland. From 1988-1989, Dr. Huerta was an Advisor to the Minister of Health in Lima, Peru, where he developed and established the National Program of Epidemiology. Dr. Huerta received his M.D. from the Universidad San Marcos in Lima, Peru and a Masters in Public Health from John Hopkins School of Public Health.

Dr. Susan M. Love, of Pacific Palisades, California, is an author, teacher, surgeon, researcher and activist. She has held numerous positions in academia and medicine, and is currently an Adjunct Professor of Surgery at the UCLA School of Medicine and Medical Director of the Santa Barbara Breast Cancer Institute. In 1988, she founded the nationally recognized Faulkner Breast Center in Boston, which combines patient care with a research program and fellowship in breast surgery. Dr. Love is the recipient of a grant from the Department of Defense to develop an intraductal approach to breast cancer. In 1994 she helped to establish the Revlon/UCLA Breast Center. In addition, she helped found the National Breast Cancer Coalition, a coalition of breast cancer advocacy groups formed to involve breast cancer patients and their supporters as advocates for action, advances and change. Dr. Love received a B.S. degree from Fordham University, an M.D. from SUNY Downstate Medical School, and an M.B.A. from the Anderson School at UCLA.

Mayor James McGreevey, of Woodbridge Township, New Jersey, has served as Mayor of Woodbridge Township since 1991, and was a candidate for Governor of New Jersey in 1996. He was the Chairman of the New Jersey Democratic Leadership Council and presently serves as Vice-President of the New Jersey Conference of Mayors (NJCM). He served as a member of the New Jersey General Assembly representing Middlesex County from 1990-1992, and a member of the New Jersey State Senate from 1994-1997. He was the sponsor of New Jersey state legislation requiring insurance companies to provide coverage for screening mammographies. Mr. McGreevey received a B.A. degree from Columbia University, an M.A. degree from Harvard University, and a J.D. degree from Georgetown University.

Dr. Arthur Nienhuis, of Memphis, Tennessee, is currently the Director of the St. Jude Children's Research Hospital. At St. Jude Hospital, he is a member of the Department of Hematology-Oncology and a St. Jude Professor of Pediatrics and Medicine at the University of Tennessee School of Medicine. From 1977 to 1993 he was the Chief of the Clinical Hematology Branch and from 1976 to 1993 he was the Deputy Clinical Director at the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute at the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland. Dr. Nienhuis was elected Vice-President of the American Society of Hematology in 1992 and served as President in 1994. This year, Dr. Nienhuis received the Henry M. Stratton Medal from the American Society of Hematology, for his outstanding body of work in the field of hematology. He received an M.D. degree from the University of California at Los Angeles.

Dr. Larry Norton, of New York, New York, joined the staff of the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center in 1988 as the Chief of Breast Cancer Medicine. In 1996 he became the Medical Director of MSKCC's Evelyn H. Lauder Breast Center and the Iris Cantor Imaging Center. He is currently the Head of the Division of Solid Tumor Oncology (medical oncology) at Memorial Hospital and Professor of Medicine, Cornell University Medical College. He is Director of the National Cancer Institute's Specialized Program of Research Excellence in Breast Cancer at MSKCC, Chair of the Cancer and Leukemia Group B Breast Committee, a Director of the American Society of Clinical Oncology, and President of the National Alliance of Breast Cancer Organizations. Dr. Norton received an A.B. degree from the University of Rochester and an M.D. from the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Columbia University.

Dr. Amelie Ramirez, of San Antonio, Texas, is currently an Associate Professor of Medicine and Associate Director of the Center for Cancer Control Research at Baylor College of Medicine. She also serves as Associate Director for community research and Co-Program Leader for the Cancer Prevention and Health Promotion Program at the San Antonio Cancer Institute. Dr. Ramirez is Principal Investigator of the National Hispanic Leadership Initiative on Cancer, En Accion, a program funded by the National Cancer Institute. She is one of the members selected to serve on the National Cancer Policy Board of the Institute of Medicine and Commission of Life Sciences and has served in various other capacities in the field of cancer research. She was recently appointed by Secretary of Health and Human Services Donna Shalala to the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Advisory Council of the National Institutes of Health. In 1996, she was given the Sarah Mazelis Award for Health Promotion by the American Public Health Association. Dr. Ramirez received a B.S. degree from the University of Houston, and M.P.H. and Dr.P.H degrees from the University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, School of Public Health.

The National Cancer Advisory Board provides advice to the President, the Secretary of Health and Human Services, and the Director of the National Cancer Institute with respect to the activities and policies carried out by the Institute. The National Cancer Advisory Board is charged with advancing the national effort against cancer by conducting and supporting research with respect to the cause, diagnosis, prevention, and treatment of cancer, rehabilitation from cancer, and the continuing care of cancer patients. The Board consists of eighteen members appointed by the President for terms of six years each.