View Header


                     Office of the Press Secretary
                          (Chicago, Illinois)
For Immediate Release                                 September 25, 1998


         White House Task Force on 2002 Salt Lake City Olympic
                   and Paralympic Games Established

President Clinton is pleased to announce the creation of the White House Task Force on the 2002 Olympic and Paralympic Games. This task force will be an interagency effort to coordinate the extensive federal activities involved in the planning and operation of the Salt Lake City Winter Games.

Vice President Gore will serve as Chair of the 2002 White House Olympic Task Force. Thurgood Marshall, Jr., Assistant to the President and Cabinet Secretary, and Mickey Ibarra, Assistant to the President and Director of Intergovernmental Affairs, will serve as Vice Chairs. Mr. Marshall brings to the task force an expertise with interagency efforts. As a native of Salt Lake City and as the President's principal liaison to Utah elected officials, Mr. Ibarra brings valuable knowledge of the area to the Task Force.

Following is a list of agencies that will be represented on the White House Task Force:
Department of State
Department of the Treasury
Department of Defense
Department of Justice
Department of the Interior
Department of Agriculture
Department of Commerce
Department of Labor
Department of Health and Human Services Department of Housing and Urban Development Department of Transportation
Department of Energy
Department of Education
Department of Veterans Affairs
Environmental Protection Agency
Office of Management and Budget
U.S. Mission to the United Nations
Small Business Administration
Office of Personnel Management
General Services Administration
The Corporation for National Service
United States Information Agency
Federal Emergency Management Agency
Federal Communications Commission
National Security Council

# # #