View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release September 24, 1998

The President today announced his intent to nominate Luis Sequeira, Chang-Lin Tien, George Langford, Maxine Savitz, and Joseph Miller, to serve as members of the National Science Board.

Dr. Luis Sequeira, of Madison, Wisconsin, is currently the J.C. Walker Professor Emeritus at the Departments of Bacteriology and Plant Pathology at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. He served as the J.C. Walker Professor in the Departments of Bacteriology and Plant Pathology at the University of Wisconsin-Madison from 1982 to 1993. From 1978 to 1982 he served as a Professor in the Departments of Bacteriology and Plant Pathology and from 1961 to 1978 he was an Associate Professor and Professor at the Department of Plant Pathology at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. In 1987, Dr. Sequeira served as Chief Scientist for the Competitive Grants Program at the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Since 1980, Dr. Sequeira has been a member of the National Academy of Sciences and is presently serving on the Council of the National Academy of Sciences. Dr. Sequeira served as Senior Editor & Editor-in-Chief at Phytopathology from 1976 to 1981 and as Senior Editor and Editor-in-Chief at Molecular Plant-microbe Interactions from 1987 to 1992. Dr. Sequeira received an A.B., an A.M. and a Ph.D. in Biology from Harvard University.

Dr. Chang-Lin Tien, of Berkeley, California, has served as the NEC Distinguished Professor of Engineering at the University of California (U.C.) Berkeley since July 1997. He served as Chancellor of U.C. Berkeley from 1990 to 1997, the first Asian-American to head a major research university in the United States, concurrent with his Chancellorship he also held the A. Martin Berline Chair in Mechanical Engineering. From 1983 to 1985 he was Berkeley's Vice Chancellor-Research. He has received the Max Jakob Memorial Award, the highest international honor in the field of heat transfer. He has been a member of the National Academy of Engineering since 1976 and was elected in 1991 as a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. At age 26 (in 1962) Dr. Tien became the youngest professor to receive the prestigious U.C. Berkeley Distinguished Teaching Award. Dr. Tien has a master's degree from the University of Louisville, and a master's and a Ph.D. from Princeton.

Dr. George M. Langford, of Etna, New Hampshire, has served as the Ernest Everett Just Professor of Natural Sciences and Professor of Biological Sciences at Dartmouth College and

Adjunct Professor of Physiology at Dartmouth Medical School since 1991. From 1988 to 1991, he was a Professor at the Department of Physiology at the School of Medicine at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. From 1988 to 1989, he was the Program Director of the CellBiology Program at the National Science Foundation. From 1979 to 1988, he was an Associate Professor at the Department of Physiology, School of Medicine at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Dr. Langford served on the Editorial Board of The Biological Bulletin from 1987 to 1991. Dr. Langford has a B.S. in Biology from Fayetteville State University, and a M.S. and Ph.D. in Cell Biology from the Illinois Institute of Technology.

Dr. Maxine L. Savitz, of Los Angeles, California, has over 30 years of experience managing research, development and implementation programs for the public and private sectors. Dr. Savitz joined AlliedSignal (then called Garret Corp.) in 1985 and since 1987 she has been the General Manager of AlliedSignal Ceramic Components, which is the only U.S. owned silicon nitride structural ceramic manufacturer for gas turbine applications. In this capacity she oversees the development and manufacturing of innovative materials for the aerospace, transportation, and industrial sectors. From 1985 to 1987, Dr. Savitz was on the Corporate Engineering staff of AlliedSignal Inc. From 1983 to 1985, Dr. Savitz was the President of the Lighting Research Institute at which her primary role was to promote and sponsor basic and applied research related to lighting phenomena. From 1974 to 1983, Dr. Savitz was employed at the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, from 1979 to 1983, she served in the capacity of Deputy Assistant Secretary for Conservation at the department. Dr. Savitz received her B.A. in Chemistry from Bryn Mawr College and her Ph.D. in Chemistry from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Dr. Joseph Miller, of Wilmington, Delaware, is currently serving as Senior Vice President for Research & Development and Chief Technology Officer at E.I. DuPont de Nemours and Company. He has been with DuPont since 1966, assuming the position of senior vice president in 1994 and of chief technology officer in 1996. He has held a variety of positions throughout DuPont in research and development, manufacturing, business, and marketing. From 1967 to 1969, Dr. Miller served in the United States Army at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory reaching the rank of captain. Dr. Miller is presently a member of the American Chemical Society and the Industrial Research Institute. He is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and a member of the National Academy of Engineering, the Chemical Heritage Foundation, Council for Competitiveness, the National Science & Technology Board International, and is chairman of the board of the National Science Resources Centers. He is also a member of the University of Delaware Research Foundation, and the Board of Trustees at the University of Delaware. Dr. Miller received a B.S. degree from Virginia Military Institute and a Ph.D. in Chemistry from Penn State.

The National Science Board was established by the National Science Foundation Act of 1950, as amended (42 U.S.C. 1863). In accordance with the Act, the Board establishes the policies of the National Science Foundation within the framework of applicable policies set forth by the President and Congress.