View Header


                     Office of the Press Secretary
                            (Moscow, Russia)
For Immediate Release                                  September 1, 1998

The President today announced his intent to appoint Roy A. Stein as Commissioner of the Great Lakes Fisheries Commission.

Dr. Roy A. Stein, of Columbus, Ohio, is currently Director of the Aquatic Ecology Laboratory at Ohio State University. Dr. Stein is a noted international expert in freshwater ecology whose research focuses on understanding how various fish species interact within aquatic ecosystems and specifically within the Great Lakes. Since 1987, Dr. Stein has been a Professor for the Department of Zoology at Ohio State University. Dr. Stein also served as an Associate Professor from 1982 to 1987 and Assistant Professor from 1976 to 1982 at Ohio State University. From 1971 to 1975, he was a Research Assistant for the Department of Zoology at the University of Wisconsin. From 1970 to 1971, Dr. Stein was a Teaching Assistant at the Department of Fisheries and Wildlife at Oregon State University. From 1968 to 1970, Dr. Stein participated in a sampling program in coastal fisheries at the Fish Commission of Oregon. Since 1990, he has served as a Member and for the past two years as Chair of the Great Lakes Fisheries Commission's Board of Technical Experts, the research oversight committee for sea lamprey control and other fishery-related research sponsored by the Commission. Dr. Stein has edited numerous journals, published a myriad of articles and received many notable awards and grants for his studies in community ecology and aquatic ecosystems.

Dr. Stein received his B.S. from the University of Michigan, an M.S. from Oregon State University and a Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin.

The United States and Canada ratified the 1955 Convention on Great Lakes Fisheries in response to the devastation of The Great Lakes' lake trout populations by sea lamprey. The Convention established the Great Lakes Fishery Commission in 1956 to administer a sea lamprey control program for the Great Lakes. The Commission researches and implements measures to control the sea lamprey population and works with the States and Canadian Provinces of the Great Lakes region to ensure that the Lakes are amply stocked with lake trout and salmon. The Commission consists of four Canadian Commissioners appointed by the Privy Council and four United States Commissioners and one alternate appointed by the President.