View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release August 12, 1998
                      PRESIDENT CLINTON DECLARES 
                      MAJOR DISASTER IN WISCONSIN

President Clinton today declared a major disaster exists in the State of Wisconsin and ordered Federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe storms and flooding beginning on August 5, 1998, and continuing.

The President's action makes Federal funding available to affected individuals in a four county area. The counties include Milwaukee, Rock, Sheboygan and Waukesha.

Assistance can include disaster housing, grants, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Federal funding is also available on a cost share basis for hazard mitigation measures.

James L. Witt, Director of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), named Mr. Ron Sherman of FEMA's regional office in Chicago, Illinois to coordinate Federal recovery operations in the affected area.

The Agency said that damage surveys are continuing in other areas, and additional counties and assistance may be added after the assessments are completed.

The Agency said that residents and business owners who sustained losses in the designated counties can begin applying for assistance tomorrow by calling 1-800-462-9029, or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. seven days a week until further notice.