View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release June 23, 1998
                       PRESIDENT CLINTON DECLARES 
                      A MAJOR DISASTER IN MINNESOTA

The President today declared a major disaster exists in the State of Minnesota and ordered Federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe storms, straight-line winds, and tornadoes on May 15-30, 1998.

The President's action makes Federal funding available to affected local governments in an eight county area. The counties include Anoka, Blue Earth, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott and Washington Counties.

Federal funding is available to eligible local governments on a cost-sharing basis for the repair or replacement of public facilities damaged by the severe storms, straight-line winds and tornadoes. Federal funding is also available on a cost share basis for hazard mitigation measures.

The Agency said that damage surveys are continuing in other areas, and additional counties may be added after the assessments are completed.