View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release June 15, 1998
                          EXISTS IN NORTH DAKOTA

The President today declared a major disaster exists in the State of North Dakota and ordered Federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by flooding and ground saturation on March 2, 1998, and continuing.

The President's action makes Federal funding available to affected local governments in a 13-county area. The counties include Barnes, Benson, Dickey, Nelson, Pembina, Pierce, Ramsey, Ransom, Richland, Rolette, Sargent, Stutsman and Towner and the Indian reservations of the Spirit Lake Sioux Tribe and the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa.

Federal funding is available to eligible local governments on a cost-sharing basis for the repair or replacement of public facilities damaged by the flooding and ground saturation. Federal funding is also available on a cost share basis for hazard mitigation measures.

The Agency said that damage surveys are continuing in other areas, and additional counties may be added after the assessments are completed.