View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release June 9, 1998
              The President Declares a State of Emergency 
                       in Sedgwick County, Kansas

The President today declared an emergency exists in Sedgwick County in the State of Kansas and ordered Federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by an explosion on June 8, 1998.

The President's action authorizes the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to activate and deploy search and rescue teams, to respond to this event that occurred in Hayesville, Kansas, as authorized under subsection 502(a) of the Stafford Act.

James L. Witt, Director of FEMA, named Ms. Carolyn J. Coleman of FEMA's regional office in Kansas City, Missouri to coordinate Federal recovery operations in the affected area.