View Header


                     Office of the Press Secretary
                       (Cape Town, South Africa)
For Immediate Release                                     March 26, 1998
                          AND NAMES PARTICIPANTS

President Clinton today announced that on June 4th and 5th of this year he will host the first national summit on retirement income savings. The President, in close consultation with the Congressional Democratic Leadership, also named the list of 100 summit participants.

The retirement savings summit, established by the bipartisan SAVER Act, represents the next step in the Administration's ongoing effort to help workers enjoy a secure and comfortable retirement. The summit will build on past Administration initiatives such as the Retirement Protection Act and the Retirement Savings and Security Act that have promoted pension coverage, made those pensions more secure and publicized the retirement savings options available to workers and employees.

At the conclusion of the summit, the participants will produce recommendations as to what the private and public sectors can do to promote pension and individual savings.

The summit participants are:

Henry Aaron - Director of Economic Studies, The Brookings

Institution, DC
Fay Allen - Agent, State Farm Insurance, IN Roger Altman - Former Treasury Deputy Secretary; Evercore

Partners Inc., NY
Marybeth Badura - American Nurses Association, DC Senator Max Baucus (D-MT)
Ted Benna - President, 401(k) Association, PA Dianne Bennett - Member, Hodgson, Russ, Andrew, Woods &

Goodyear, NY
James Bentley - SVP, American Hospital Association, DC Douglas Bernheim - Professor, Stanford Univ., CA John Biggs - CEO, TIAA-CREF, NY
Phyllis Borzi - Attorney, O'Donoghue & O'Donoghue, DC John Brennan - CEO, The Vanguard Group, PA Eli Broad - Chairman and CEO, SunAmerica, CA Collette Brown - Gerontologist, Univ. of Hawaii, HI Ellen Bruce - Director, Public Policy Div., Gerontology

Institute, Univ. of Mass, Boston, MA Melissa Buckley - Employee, Prima Facie, Inc., PA R. Thomas Buffenbarger - President, Int'l Ass'n of

Machinists and Aerospace Workers, MD David Certner - Director, Federal Affairs, AARP, DC Ken Chenault - President and Chief Operating Officer,

American Express, NY
William Clay, Jr. - State Senator, MO
Bill Crist - Board Chair, CalPERS, CA
Sparb Collins - Executive Director, North Dakota Public

Employees Ret. System, ND
Sheryl Davenport - President, St. Louis Teachers Union, MO Jaime Dimon - Travelers/Smith Barney, NY Paul Dimond - Attorney, Miller, Canfield, MI Douglas Dority - President, UFCW, DC
Ken Duncan - Treasurer, State of Louisiana Patricia Dunn - Co-Chair, Barclays Global Investors, CA Karen Ferguson - Director, Pension Rights Center, DC Mark Fettig - President, Prudential Retirement Services, NJ Mike Fitzgerald - Treasurer, State of Iowa Jonathan Barry Forman - Professor, Univ. of Oklahoma, OK Carolyn Forrest - Vice President, UAW, DC William Gale - Senior Fellow, The Brookings Institution, DC Robert Garner - Nat'l Director, Ernst & Young, NY Ron Gebhartsbauer - Senior Pension Fellow, American Academy

of Actuaries, DC
Robert Georgine - President, Building and Construction

Trades Dept., DC
Leo Gerard - Secretary-Treasurer, United Steelworkers of

America, PA
Congressman Sam Gjedenson (D-CT)
Lamond Godwin - Chairman and CEO, Peachtree Asset Management, GA Vicki Gottlich - Senior Attorney, Nat'l Sr. Citizens Law

Center, DC
Senator Bob Graham (D-FL)
Sarita Gupta - President, U.S. Students' Association, DC Daniel Halperin - Professor, Harvard Law School, MA Teresa Heinz - President, Heinz Family Foundation, MA John T. Herndon - Exec. Director, Florida State Board of

Administration, FL
Jim Hill - Treasurer, State of Oregon
Cindy Hounsell - Executive Director, Women's Institute for

a Secure Retirement, DC
Frank Hurt - President, Bakery, Confectionery and Tobacco

Workers, DC
Milton Irvin - Managing Director, Salomon Brothers, NY Regina Jefferson - Professor, Catholic Univ. Law School, DC Gloria Johnson - President, Coalition of Labor Union Women, DC Alan Kanter - President, Alan N. Kanter & Associates, MD Robert Krinsky - Chairman, The Segal Company, NY Barbara Krumsiek - President, The Calvert Group, MD Carmela LaCayo - Executive Director, Nat'l Ass'n for Hispanic

Elderly, CA
Marc Lachritz - President, Securities Industries Association, NY Heather Lamm - Board Member, Third Millenium, CO Diane Lassus - President-Elect, Nat'l Ass'n of Women Business

Owners, NJ
Richard Lauer - President, Lauer Financial Group, Ltd., SD William Lucy - Secretary-Treasurer, AFSCME, DC Marian Lupu - Director, Tuscon AZ Area Office on Aging, AZ Julius Maddox - President, Michigan Ed. Ass'n, MI Shawn Marcell - President, Prima Facie, Inc., PA Johnetta Marshall - President, Older Women's League, KY Carl McCall - Comptroller, State of New York Douglas McCarron - President, United Brotherhood of Carpenters

and Joiners
Martha McSteen - Nat'l Committee to Preserve Social Security

and Medicare, DC
Virginia Miller - VP, Fleet Street Bank, MA Charles Moody - President and CEO, C.D. Moody Construction, GA Alicia Munnell - Professor, Boston College, MA Congressman Richard Neal - (D-MA)
Anna Padia - Human Rights Director, The Newspaper Guild, CWA, DC Martha Patterson - Partner, KMPG Peat Marwick, DC Congressman Donald Payne - (D-NJ)
Martha Phillips - Executive Director, Concord Coalition, DC Congressman Earl Pomeroy - (D-ND)
Lou Prezau - City National Bank, NJ
Hugh Price - President, Urban League, DC Steve Protulis - Executive Director, Nat'l Council of

Senior Citizens, MD
Anna Rappaport - Principal, William M. Mercer, Inc., IL Beth Renge - President, Renge and Company Securities, Inc., CA Hans Riemer - Executive Director, 2030 Center, DC Elaine Roberts - President, South Dakota Education Ass'n, SD Robert Rozen - Principal, Washington Counsel, P.C., DC Deborah Sawyer - President, Environmental Designs, IL Susan Serota - Member, Winthrop, Stimson, Putnam & Roberts, NY Gerry Shea - Assistant to the President, AFL-CIO, DC Samuel Simmons - Exec. Dir., Nat'l Caucus and Center on

Black Aged, DC
Fredric Singerman - Partner, Seyfarth, Shaw, Fairweather &

Geraldson, DC
Maceo Sloane - Chairman and CEO, Sloane Capital Management, NC William Song - Partner, Davies, Roberts & Reid, WA Randi Starr - Partner, Deloitte & Touche, PA Ken Steiner - Actuary, Watson Wyatt, MA Andrew Stern - President, SEIU, DC
Gene Steuerle - Senior Fellow, Tax and Budget Policy,

The Urban Institute, DC
Lee Swenson - President, Nat'l Farmers Union Fernando Torres-Gil - Assoc. Dean, School of Public Policy

and Social Research, UCLA, CA
Marion Tse - Partner, Goodwin, Proctor & Hoar, MA Eugene Waschbusch - President, Nat'l Council on Teacher

Retirement, MN

# # #