View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release December 15, 1997

The President today announced his intent to appoint George R. Ariyoshi, Curtis H. Barnette, Robert J. Eaton, George Fisher, D. George Harris, Dean R. Kleckner, J. Bruce Llewellyn, Lewis Platt, and Jeanette Sarkisian Wagner as Members to the Advisory Committee for Trade Policy and Negotiations (ACTPN).

George R. Ariyoshi, of Honolulu, Hawaii, is an international business consultant and Counsel at the law firm of Watanabe, Ing & Kawashima. He is also President of Prince Resorts Hawaii, the holding company of hotels and golf courses located on different islands in Hawaii. Mr. Ariyoshi is a former Governor of Hawaii and is the current Chairman of the Board of the East-West Center, and member of the Advisory Board of the Japan Foundation Center for Global Partnership. He received his B.A. from Michigan State University and his J.D. from the University of Michigan Law School. Mr. Ariyoshi is the recipient of numerous honorary doctorates from universities in the United States and throughout the Asia Pacific region.

Curtis H. Barnette, of Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, is Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of the Bethlehem Steel Corporation. He is a member of The Business Roundtable and The Business Council. Mr. Barnette is a director of MetLife, a Trustee of Lehigh University, Chairman and Director of the American Iron and Steel Institute, and a Director and former Chairman of the International Iron and Steel Institute and the WVU Foundation. He is a native of West Virginia and was educated at West Virginia University. Mr. Barnette was a Fulbright Scholar in International Law at the University of Manchester, England. He received a J.D. from Yale Law School and an AMP from the Harvard Business School.

Robert J. Eaton, of Arbor Hills, Michigan, currently serves as Chairman of the Board, President, and Chief Executive Officer of the Chrysler Corporation. Mr. Eaton is Secretary/Treasurer of the American Automobile Manufacturer's Association and a member of The Business Council and The Business Roundtable. He is also active in the Detroit community as Chairman of Detroit Renaissance and as a member of several community organizations. Mr. Eaton holds a B.S. in mechanical engineering from the University of Kansas and attended the Executive Program at Dartmouth College.

George Fisher, of Rochester, New York, currently serves as Chairman, President, and Chief Executive Officer of the Eastman Kodak Company. Before joining Kodak, Mr. Fisher was Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Motorola, Incorporated. He joined Motorola in 1976, after ten years in research and development at Bell Telephone Laboratories. Mr. Fisher is a member of the Board of Directors of AT&T and the General Motors Corporation. He was Chairman of the U.S. Council on Competitiveness from 1991 to 1993, and is a past member of the Boards of American Express Company, Minnesota Mining & Manufacturing, Brown University, and National Urban League, Inc. Mr. Fisher received a B.S. in engineering at the University of Illinois, and both an M.S. in engineering and a Ph.D. in applied mathematics from Brown University.

D. George Harris, of New York, New York, is Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Harris Chemical Group, Inc. (HCG), a holding company for a group of inorganic chemical and extractive minerals businesses. Mr. Harris is also Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Harris Specialty Chemicals, Inc. (HSC), Chairman of U.S. Silica and Penrice Soda Products Pty Ltd., and Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of D. George Harris & Associates, Inc., an industrial management and leveraged buyout firm he founded in 1987. He serves as a trustee of the Tax-Free Fund for Utah and since early 1994, has served on the Board of Director of McWhorter, Inc.

Dean R. Kleckner, of Des Moines, Iowa, is currently serving his sixth two-year term as President of the American Farm Bureau Federation. Mr. Kleckner operates a 350-acre corn, soybean, and hog farm. He was the only farmer on the U.S. Advisory Team for the Uruguay Round of negotiations under the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade. Mr. Kleckner has also been active in rural health issues in his community, and has served on his local board of education for eight years.

J. Bruce Llewellyn, of New York, New York, currently serves as Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer of The Philadelphia Coca-Cola Bottling Company. Mr. Llewellyn serves on the Board of Visitors at Columbia University School of Journalism and the United Negro College Fund. He also serves on the Board of Directors of the Fund for Large Enterprises in Russia (FLER), Coors Brewing Company, Teleport Communications Group, Inc. and Essence Communications, Inc. He is also a former President of the Overseas Private Investment Corporation (OPIC). Mr. Llewellyn received his B.A. from the City University of New York, his J.D. from the New York Law School, his M.B.A. from Columbia University, and a degree in public administration from New York University.

Lewis E. Platt, of Palo Alto, California, is Chairman of the Board, President and Chief Executive Officer of Hewlett-Packard Company. Hewlett-Packard is an international manufacturer of measurement and computation products and systems used in industry, business, engineering, science, medicine and education. Mr. Platt is a member of The Business Council and The Business Roundtable, and also serves on the Cornell University Council and the Wharton School of Overseers. Mr. Platt holds a bachelors degree in mechanical engineering from Cornell University in Ithaca, N.Y., and a masters degree in business administration from the Wharton School of Business, University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia.

Jeanette Sarkisian Wagner, of New York, New York, currently serves as President of Estee Lauder International, Inc., responsible for brand marketing and operations in 32 countries, for eight Brands in multiple channels of distribution, and the largest division in the Company. Ms. Wagner serves on the Boards of Directors of Tricon, The Stride Rite Corporation, and American Greetings Corporation. She is also a member of The Economic Club, the Women's Economic Round Table, the Asia Society, the China Institute, the Japan Society, and the Korean Society. Mrs. Wagner received her B.S. from Northwestern University and is a graduate of the Advanced Management Program of the Harvard Business School. She has an honorary Doctorate of Humanities from Marymount Manhattan College.

The Advisory Committee for Trade Policy and Negotiations is responsible for providing overall advice on trade policy matters of the United States. Staff and administrative support for the committee are provided by the Office of the United States Trade Representative.