View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release December 5, 1996

Statement by the Press Secretary

The White House and the Congressional Joint Congressional Committee on Inaugural Ceremonies today announced the program for the inauguration ceremony of President Clinton to his second term.

The nation's 53rd quadrennial inaugural ceremony will take place on the West Front of the U.S. Capitol on January 20, 1997.

Participants in the program include: the Reverend Billy Graham; Reverend Gardner C. Taylor, Pastor Emeritus of the Concord Baptist Church of Christ, Brooklyn, N.Y.; internationally acclaimed opera star Jessye Norman; poet Miller Williams; singer Santita Jackson; the Resurrection Choir, composed of adult members of ten houses of worship destroyed in the past year by arson, which performed at the Democratic National Convention earlier this year; the Children of the Gospel: The Next Generation, a youth choir from the Washington, D.C. area; the Immanuel Baptist Church Sanctuary Choir and Orchestra of Little Rock; and the United States Marine Band.

At noon, the President will be sworn in for his second term, as he was four years ago, by Chief Justice of the United States William Rehnquist. Vice President Gore will be administered the Oath of Office by Associate Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsberg.

The program, which begins at 11:30 a.m., is as follows:

PRELUDE United States Marine Band, & The President's Own

CALL TO ORDER/ The Honorable John Warner WELCOMING REMARKS United States Senator, Virginia

INVOCATION The Reverend Billy Graham


MUSICAL SELECTION Children of the Gospel Choir: The Next Generation

THE VICE PRESIDENTIAL Administered by the Honorable Ruth Bader Ginsburg,

OATH OF OFFICE        Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the
                      United States


INTRODUCTION OF       The Honorable Wendell H. Ford  
THE PRESIDENT         United States Senator, Kentucky

THE PRESIDENTIAL      Administered by the Honorable William H. Rehnquist 
OATH OF OFFICE        The Chief Justice of the United States


MUSICAL SELECTION     Immanuel Baptist Church Sanctuary Choir and

SELECTION             Miller Williams

BENEDICTION           Reverend Gardner Taylor

THE NATIONAL ANTHEM Santita Jackson and The Resurrection Choir