View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release August 2, 1996

     President Clinton announced today his intent to nominate 

three members to the National Science Board (NSB), the governing body of the National Science Foundation.

The Board was established by the National Science Foundation Act of 1950. It has twenty-four members appointed by the President with the advice and consent of the Senate. Members serve six-year rotating terms and eight members are appointed every two years. The Board members are drawn from industry and academia; they represent a variety of science and engineering disciplines. They are selected for their distinguished service in research, education or public service.

The President is announcing his intent to nominate the following individuals:

Mary K. Gaillard of Berkeley, California, is a professor of Physics at the University of California, Berkeley, and a faculty senior scientist at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. Dr. Gaillard is an expert in theoretical particle physics. She is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and she was awarded the Department of Energy's E.O. Lawrence Memorial Award in 1988, and the J.J. Sakurai Prize of the American Physical Society in 1993 in recognition of her work on elementary particles. Dr. Gaillard earned her doctorate from the University of Paris, Orsay.

Eamon M. Kelly of New Orleans, Louisiana, is president of Tulane University. Dr. Kelly is an economist with national and international recognition in the fields of applied economic and health development. Before joining Tulane, Dr. Kelly worked with the Ford Foundation and was the Officer in Charge of Social Development, the Foundation's largest domestic and civil rights division. At Ford, he was also chairman of the Satellite Working Group, responsible for developing the first national satellite system for public broadcasting. He is the former chairman of the Association of American Universities, an organization of the 60 major research universities in the United States and Canada. He earned his doctorate from Columbia University, New York.

Richard A. Tapia of Houston, Texas, is the Noah Harding Professor of Computational and Applied Mathematics at Rice University. Dr. Tapia is an expert in the field of computational and applied mathematics, and he has received numerous awards for his significant contributions to minority education and his public service. He formerly served on the National Board of Directors of the Society for Advancement of Chicanos and Native Americans in Sciences, and he is a member of the National Academy of Engineering. Dr. Tapia earned his Ph.D. from the University of California, Los Angeles.

In their capacity as Members of the National Science Board, these candidates will recommend broad national policies for promoting basic research and education in the sciences and engineering.