View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release July 26, 1996
                      TO THE NATIONAL SCIENCE BOARD

President Clinton today announced his intention to nominate five members to the National Science Board (NSB), an advisory body to the National Science Foundation.

The Board was established by the National Science Foundation Act of 1950 and has 24 members appointed by the President with the advice and consent of the Senate. Members serve six-year rotating terms and eight members are appointed every two years. NSB members are drawn from industry and universities, and represent a variety of science and engineering disciplines. They are selected for their distinguished service in research, education or public service.

The President is announcing his intention to nominate the following individuals:

John A. Armstrong of Amherst, Massachusetts, is the former Vice President of Science and Technology and member of the Corporate Management Board at IBM. Mr. Armstrong's expertise is in the fields of quantum electronics and laser physics. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering as well as a fellow of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Dr. Armstrong earned his Ph.D. in applied physics at Harvard University.

M.R.C. Greenwood of Davis, California, is Chancellor of the University of California, Santa Cruz. Dr. Greenwood is the former Dean of Graduate Studies, University of California, Davis, and is an expert in the fields of physiology and nutrition. She is a member of the Institute of Medicine, National Academy of Sciences. Dr. Greenwood served as the Associate Director for Science in the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy from November 1993 to May 1995. Dr. Greenwood earned her BA from Vassar College and her Ph.D. from Rockefeller University.

Stanley Vincent Jaskolski of Cleveland, Ohio, is the Chief Technical Officer and Vice President of Technical Management for the Eaton Corporation, Cleveland, Ohio. Dr. Jaskolski was a faculty member in the Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department at Marquette University, Milwaukee, Wisconsin for 15 years; he served as Chair during part of his tenure. He will become president of the Industrial Research Institute in May 1997. Dr. Jaskolski earned his Ph.D. in electrical engineering from Marquette University.

Vera C. Rubin of the District of Columbia is a research astronomer with the Department of Terrestrial Magnetism of the Carnegie Institution of Washington. She has received numerous awards for her studies of motions stars and gas within galaxies, and motions of galaxies in the universe. Dr. Rubin is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the American Philosophical Society. She received the President's National Medal of Science in 1993. Dr. Rubin earned her BS degree from Vassar College and her Ph.D. in astronomy from Georgetown University.

Bob H. Suzuki of Pomona, California, is President of California Polytechnic University, Pomona. Dr. Suzuki has been the recipient of many public service and professional awards in areas of advancing minority education and community development. He has conducted research in both engineering and educational sociology, and has had a distinguished career in both fields. Dr. Suzuki earned his undergraduate degree in mechanical engineering from the University of California, Berkeley and his Ph.D. in aeronautics from the California Institute of Technology.

In their capacity as Members of the National Science Board, these candidates will recommend overall national policies for promoting basic research and education in the sciences to the National Science Foundation.