View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release April 23, 1996


The President today declared a major disaster exists in the State of Illinois and ordered federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe storms and tornadoes.

The President's action makes federal funding available to affected individuals and local governments in a two county area. The counties include Champaign and Macon.

Assistance can include disaster housing, grants, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Federal funding also is available to eligible local governments on a cost-sharing basis for the repair or replacement of public facilities damaged by the severe storms and tornadoes. Federal funding is also available on a cost share basis for hazard mitigation measures.

James L. Witt, Director of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), named Ron Sherman of FEMA's regional office in Chicago to coordinate Federal recovery operations in the affected area.

FEMA said that damage surveys are continuing in other areas, and additional counties may be added after the assessments are completed.