View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release February 16, 1996

President Clinton announced today his intent to appoint Arthur Q. Davis to the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation.

Arthur Q. Davis of Louisiana has been actively involved in historic preservation for many years. He served on the Historic District Landmarks Commission and is presently a member of the Board of the Preservation Resource Center. Mr. Davis is a registered member of the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards, a former member of the A.I.A.'s National Committee on Aesthetics, a former member of the Architectural Advisory Committee to the U.S. Navy and a Fellow of the American Institute of Architects. He also served as the past chairman of the Jury for the National Design Competition of American Telephone and Telegraph. In addition to his civic, cultural, philanthropic, and charitable contributions, Mr. Davis has played an integral role in the design of numerous buildings in the City of New Orleans, including the landmark French Quarter Royal Orleans Hotel, the Louisiana Superdome, Kiefer Arena and Sports Center, and the George Washington Carver and Thomy Lafon Schools. Mr. Davis' firm has also completed projects in other parts of the world including: the United States Embassy in Saigon. His firm has received more than 50 honor awards for excellence in design. Mr. Davis has a B.S. in architecture from Tulane University and a M.A. in architecture from Harvard University.

The Advisory Council on Historic Preservation is an independent federal agency established in 1966 through the Historic Preservation Act. The Council advises the President and Congress on national historic preservation matters and assesses the effectiveness of state, local and private programs in carrying out the purposes of the National Historic Preservation Act. In addition, the Council reviews federally licensed projects that affect properties listed in or eligible for the National Register of Historic Places. Its members are also responsible for issuing the President's Historic Preservation Awards.