View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release September 27, 1995

President Clinton today named the following individuals to the President's Oklahoma City Scholarship Fund Advisory Board:

George Nigh of Oklahoma, to serve as Chair, is the former Governor of Oklahoma and currently serves as the President of the University of Central Oklahoma.

Henry Bellmon of Oklahoma is the former Governor of Oklahoma and a former U.S. Senator.

Michael Enoch of Oklahoma is currently in the 9th grade at Bishop McGuinness High School in Oklahoma City. Michael lost his mother in the Oklahoma City tragedy. Michael will serve as an ex-officio, non voting member.

Melvin Hall of Oklahoma is an attorney, a member of the University of Oklahoma Board of Regents, and the former Executive Director of the Oklahoma Human Rights Commission of the State of Oklahoma.

W.R. Howell of Texas is Chairman of the Board of J.C. Penney Company, Inc., located in Plano, Texas. Mr. Howell is originally from Claremore, Oklahoma.

Lou C. Kerr of Oklahoma is Vice President of the Kerr Foundation, a non-profit charitable and educational corporation established to identify and support programs, organizations, and institutions which provide opportunities for Oklahomans, particularly the young.

Martha King of Oklahoma is the chief volunteer contact to the dependent survivors of victims of the Oklahoma City tragedy. She represents Governor Frank Keating on the Board and is the former Director of Neighbor for Neighbor, a non-profit organization in Oklahoma City.

Ruth Leebron Levenson of Oklahoma is Dean Emeritus of International Programs at Oklahoma City University, and active in women's issues and international educational initiatives.

Ronald J. Norick of Oklahoma is the Mayor of Oklahoma City.

M. Susan Savage of Oklahoma is the Mayor of Tulsa.

James Lee Witt of Arkansas is the Director of the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

Stanton Young of Oklahoma is the former President of the Oklahoma Health Center, former Chairman of the Oklahoma Presbyterian Hospital and former President of the Oklahoma City Chamber of Commerce. Mr. Young currently serves as Chairman of the Presbyterian Health Foundation.

The President's Oklahoma City (OKC) Scholarship Fund Advisory Board was formed for the purpose of aiding those children who had a parent die in the bombing of the Alfred P. Murrah Building in Oklahoma City. Specifically, the scholarship fund will assist in providing for the education of the children whose parent or parents died, or were severely disabled as a result of the bombing. The Federal Employee Education and Assistance Fund (FEEA), a private charity, will administer the scholarship fund. The fund will be administered solely for the provision of educational needs of those children. The Advisory Board will help raise funds, advise the FEEA concerning eligibility criteria and provide such information as the FEEA may require.