View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release August 18, 1995

President Clinton Declares Major Disaster in Minnesota

President Clinton today declared a major disaster exists in the state of Minnesota and ordered federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe storms, straight line winds and tornadoes on July 9 through July 14, 1995.

The President's action makes federal funding available to affected local governments in 12 counties and one Indian reservation. The areas include: the counties of Becker, Beltrami, Clay, Clearwater, Crow Wing, Hubbard, Itasca, Kittson, Mahnomen, Otter Tail, St. Louis and Wadena; and the White Earth Indian Reservation.

Federal funding is available to eligible local governments on a cost-sharing basis for the repair or replacement of public facilities damaged by the severe weather.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency is continuing to conduct damage surveys in other areas and additional counties may be added after the assessments are complete.