View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release July 10, 1995

     The President today announced his intention to nominate Carl Spielvogel of

New York as a Member of the Broadcasting Board of Governors for the International Bureau of Broadcasting.

Mr. Spielvogel is the Chairman, the Chief Executive Officer and a Director of United Auto Group, Inc. United Auto Group, Inc. is a privately-held operator of franchise auto dealerships, and the eighth largest auto dealership group in the United States. Mr. Spielvogel is the former Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Backer Spielvogel Bates Worldwide, Inc., one of the world's largest marketing communications and advertising companies. From 1979 to 1987, Mr. Spielvogel served as Vice Chairman of the Interpublic Group of Companies, Inc.

Mr. Spielvogel is actively involved in various cultural and civic activities, including serving as a member of the Board of Trustees and the Executive Committee of both the Asia Society and the Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts. He is a member of the Board of Trustees for the New York Philharmonic, Mt. Sinai Hospital, and the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

The Broadcasting Board of Governors was created by the International Broadcasting Act of 1994. Members of the Board will be responsible for policy and budgetary oversight for all of the non-military international broadcasting services of the United States Government, under the aegis of the United States Information Agency. These services include the Voice of America, Radio Free/Radio Liberty, Radio and Television Marti, Worldnet Television and the planned Radio Free Asia.

In addition to Mr Spielvogel, the President has announced his intention to nominate the following individuals to the Broadcasting Board of Governors: David Burke, Tom Korologos, Edward Kaufman, Bette Bao Lord, Marc Nathanson, Alberto Mora, and Cheryl Halpern.

The Honorable Joseph Duffey, Director of the United States Information Agency, will serve as an Ex-Officio Member of the bipartisan board, which will have nine members total, including Director Duffey.