View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release June 15, 1995

Three Tennessee Counties Declared Disaster Areas

I am pleased to announce that President Clinton today declared Cumberland, Houston and Lawrence counties in Tennessee major disaster areas eligible for federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts already underway there.

Severe storms and tornadoes struck this region of Tennessee May 14-19, 1995. The result were massive and severe, causing four deaths, numerous personal injuries to residents, the destruction of homes, and major damage to utilities and roads.

To help the citizens of this region rebuild their communities, President Clinton has made available federal disaster assistance. Eligible local governments will receive public assistance for the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged public facilities. Damage surveys are continuing in other areas, and additional counties may be added after the assessments are completed.

The residents of Cumberland, Houston, and Lawrence counties have done tremendous work to recover from the devastation of the storms and tornadoes. I know the federal aid approved today will provide much needed additional support.