View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release May 19, 1995
                      CONFERENCE ON SMALL BUSINESS

The President announced today his selection of an additional seventeen individuals to serve as Delegates to the White House Conference on Small Business. The 1995 White House Conference on Small Business will take place June 11-15 at the Washington Hilton in Washington, D.C. It will be the culmination of 59 state meetings and 6 regional meetings held across the country and will bring together nearly 2,000 delegates from all fifty states, three territories and the District of Columbia. The delegates will make recommendations to the President and the Congress for executive and legislative action to maintain and encourage the economic viability of small business.

Thomas A. Antoon of Louisiana is the President and Chairman of the Board of Rapides Corporation and is a member of the Governor's Advisory Board on Indian Gaming.

Anthony A. Armstrong of Maine is President and Co- Owner of Maine Home Mortgage Corporation, a partner in Redmond/Armstrong Associates and serves as Executive Vice President of Auctions Northeast, Inc.

Honorable Thomas Baker of Iowa is a member of the Iowa House of Representatives, owner of Custom Services and serves as a member of the Bankers Trust Advisory Board. He is a past recipient of the Iowa Small Business Advocate of the Year Award and the Iowa Minority Advocate Award.

Richard Bertsch of California is the President and Founder of LA Sound International.

Darwin Bromley of Illinois is one of the founders of Mayfair Games, Inc.

Paul Condit of Texas is President and General Manager of Texas Equipment Co., Inc.

Margarita R. Delgado of Florida is President of MRD Consulting and serves as Director of the Hispanic Women's Leadership Alliance.

Darlene D. Drake of Kentucky is the founder of Fitness Pro, Inc. and was awarded the 1993 Small Independent Retailer of the Year Award by the National Sporting Goods Association.

Patrick Geho of Tennessee is President and CEO of SCC, Inc. and is Director of the Small Business Development Center at Middle Tennessee State University.

Carolyn Jean Hawks of West Virginia is the owner and Director of Ft. Hill Child Development Center, Inc. and is a member of the West Virginia Committee for Prevention of Child Abuse.

Lance Herndon of Georgia is President of ACCESS, Inc. and was awarded the National Minority Entrepreneur of the Year Award in 1993.

Sam Kapourales of West Virginia is owner of Hurley Drug Company and is the President of the West Virginia State Board of Pharmacy.

John R. McKeehan of Tennessee is 1st Vice President of the Citizens National Bank of Athens.

Jeffrey Neubauer of Wisconsin is President of the Kranz Company.

Robert J. Shell of Arkansas is President of Baldwin & Shell Construction and is a member of the Board of Directors of the Associated General Contractors of America.

Orna Shulman of the District of Columbia is President and General Counsel of Intertech Corporation.

Richard J. Whouley of Massachusetts is President of Scientific Management Techniques, Inc.