View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release May 11, 1995
                      CONFERENCE ON SMALL BUSINESS

President Clinton selected the first thirty-eight individuals who will serve as Delegates to the White House Conference on Small Business today. The 1995 White House Conference on Small Business will take place June 11-15 at the Washington Hilton in Washington, D.C. It will be the culmination of 59 state meetings and 6 regional meetings held across the country and will bring nearly 2,000 delegates from all fifty states, three territories and the District of Columbia to make recommendations to the President and the Congress for executive and legislative action to maintain and encourage the economic viability of small business.

Peggy Hernandez Anastos, of New Jersey, is the owner of the Anastos Agency, which has interests in insurance, travel, accounting, and real estate She also serves as CoChair

of the Afro-American/Latino Coalition of New Jersey.

George A. Beach, of Pennsylvania, is President and Creative Director of Beach Advertising and a member of the Philadelphia Mayor's Small Business Council and the African-American Chamber of Commerce.

Kenneth C. Blair, Jr., of Ohio, is Chairman of the Board of Circle Transport and a member of the National Guardian Council of the National Federation of Independent Business.

Roderick Blount, of Tennessee, is President and CEO of the Allied Group and a member of the City of Memphis Center City Revenue Finance Corporation.

William D. Budinger, of Delaware, an inventor, is Chairman and CEO of Rodel, Inc. and a member of the Board of Directors of the Progressive Policy Institute.

C. Michael Davenport, of Kentucky, is the broker/owner of a real estate company and a National Director of the National Association of Home Builders.

Tony Davidow, of Georgia, is the owner of Toncee, Inc., which produces environmentally friendly inks and coatings for the wire and cable industry.

Ned Densmore, of New Hampshire, is Owner of the Village Book Store and a member of the Board of Directors of the Northern Community Investment Corporation and the American Booksellers Association. In 1990 he was awarded the New Hampshire Small Business Person of the Year Award.

Kenneth Eakes, of Washington, is President and CEO of Lennon Foods and Gran'pa Dons, Inc., regional specialty meat processors.

Sandra Fowler, of Virginia, is the President and CEO of the Brewton Corporation, a natural gas, coal and petroleum products provider.

Betty Franklin-Hammonds, of Wisconsin, is Editor and Publisher of the Madison Times Weekly Newspaper.

Zdenka Gast, of New York, is the founder of Contractors Welding of Western New York, Inc., which specializes in bridge construction.

John Paul Giere, of Maryland, is President of the Government Relations Group of Kutak Rock, which is based in the Washington office of the national law firm.

Marina Grant, of California, is President of Grant Communications, which was recognized by Inc. Magazine in 1993 as one of the top 500 fastest growing privately held companies. She is a member of the Board of Directors of the Democratic Leadership Council.

R. Alan Hall, of Alabama, is the Chief Financial Officer, Controller and Treasurer of Bill Harbert International Construction, Inc. and a member of the Professional Advisory Board of the Culverhouse School of Accountancy at the University of Alabama.

Betty Hall, of New Hampshire, is the Owner of Hall Manufacturing Co., Inc., a family-owned tote bag manufacturer founded in 1951.

Ada S. Hollingsworth, of Arkansas, is a partner in the A&A Travel Service, which emphasizes barrier free travel for the physically challenged. She is a member of the Greater Little Rock Chamber of Commerce and the Little Rock Minority Business Development Center.

Nat Hyman, of Pennsylvania, is President and CEO of the Hyman Companies and has been recognized as Entrepreneur of the Year by Inc. Magazine.

Morris Kaplan, of Arizona, is an attorney and certified public accountant with the firm of Goldman & Kaplan and Vice President of the American Association of Attorneys/Certified Public Accountants, a national organization of professionals who hold both licenses.

Michael W. Kempner, of New Jersey, is President of MWW/Strategic Communications, Inc., which has grown to become one of the nation's top 20 independent public relations firms.

Phyllis Gutierrez Kenney, of Washington, is the owner of Felipa's on 45th in Seattle and President of the Washington State Hispanic Chamber of Commerce.

William C. Kimball, of Iowa, is President of Medicap Pharmacies, Inc.

Sandra K. Lee, of New York, is Vice President of Harold L. Lee & Sons, a family run insurance agency which has been serving New York's Chinatown since 1888.

Carmen Orta, of Texas, is Vice President of American Communication Services, a Houston telecommunications company, and a member of the Advisory Board of the Hispanic Women in Leadership Committee, a member of the Houston Business Council, and a former President of the Houston Hispanic Chamber of Commerce.

Indira B. Patel, of Massachusetts, is President and CEO of New England Office Supply, Inc. and a member of the New England Minority Purchasing Council.

Wayne Patrick, of Indiana, is Owner and Partner of Professional Data Dimensions, Chairman of the Indiana Small Business Development Corporation and a member of the Governor's Executive Board for the Indiana Economic Development Council.

Derron Pierson, of Florida, is the Vice President of the Solo Construction Company located in Miami.

Alice Rickel, of Ohio, is the Senior Partner of her own law firm and a member of the Board of Directors of both the Center for the Prevention of Domestic Violence and the Women's Law Fund.

Barbara Serna, of New Mexico, is the owner and operator of Alicia Fine Jewelers in northern New Mexico.

Donald J. Sterhan, of Montana, is the owner of the Sterhan Company and the Director of the Montana Chamber of Commerce.

Soundra Johnson Temple, of Louisiana, is Owner and Director of Louisiana Health & Rehabilitation Options and Owner and Assistant Executive Director of Harmony Center, Inc.

Mary Touris, of Colorado, is the owner of The Merritt House, a bed and breakfast located in Denver.

Carolyn Warner, of Arizona, is President and Founder of Carolyn Warner and Associates and is a former Arizona State Superintendent of Public Instruction.

Honorable Robert A. Weygand, of Rhode Island, serves as Lieutenant Governor and Chairman of Rhode Island's Small Business Advocacy Council. He is also the founder of an architectural firm.

Alan L. White, of Arkansas, is President of Alan White Furniture, which has been in business since 1950, and a member of the Arkansas Small Business Council.

Phyllis Williams, of Utah, is President of Corporate Solutions and Training, and has been honored as Salt Lake County's Minority Businesswoman of the Year, the U.S. Department of Commerce Wholesale Company of the Year and Chevron Minority Vendor of the Year.

Edward Zetick, of Pennsylvania, is an attorney and tax practitioner and a member of the National Executive Board of the Ukrainian American Veterans Association.

George Zoffinger, of New Jersey, is Chairman of a small consortium of consulting firms known as the Strategies Group. He is also Chairman of Core States-New Jersey National Bank, a member of the New Jersey Council of Economic Advisors and Chairman of the New Brunswick Development Corporation. He is the former New Jersey Commissioner of Commerce and Economic Development.