View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release April 5, 1995



President Clinton today announced his intent to appoint the following individuals to the Advisory Committee on the Arts of the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts.

Judith Aronson of Missouri is Chairman and Commissioner of the Regional Arts Commission in St. Louis. Previously, she served as a Member of the Missouri Arts Council and a Trustee of the St. Louis Art Museum.

  1. Arthur Davis of Iowa is the senior shareholder in the law firm of Davis, Hockenberg, Wine, Brown, Koehn & Shors, P.C. Previously, he served as the state chair of the Iowa Democratic Party and was appointed by President Carter as a Member of the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Council.

Sandra Stillman Gartner of Vermont is a member of the Screen Actors Guild, the American Federation of Television and Radio Artists' and Actors' Equity Association and has performed on television, in film and theater. Her past and present board memberships include the Vermont Council on the Arts, Actors' Repertory and the Crossroads Arts Council. She is currently on the Goals 2000 Board for the State of Vermont, as well as on the Vermont State Judicial Nominating Board.

June S. Hamra of Missouri is the vice president of Marketing at Wendy's of Missouri, Inc. She is a member of the Friends of the Missouri University Libraries Council. Previously, she served as President of the Southwest Missouri State University Development Corporation and as a Member of the Board of Regents of Southwest Missouri State University. Ms. Hamra is a Charter Member of the Mid-America Singers Chorale Ensemble and served as its President for three years.

James H. Newberry, Jr. of Kentucky is the founding partner and former chairman of Newberry, Hargrove & Rambicure, P.S.C., a medium-sized business law firm. Previously, he served as Acting Secretary for the Kentucky Natural Resources and Environmental Protection Cabinet.

Neal K. Okabayashi of Hawaii is vice president and counsel in the legal department of First Hawaiian Bank. Previously, he served as special counsel to the insurance division at the Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs in Honolulu. He was also staff counsel to the Hawaii State Senate Judiciary Committee and the Hawaii House of Representatives Consumer Protection and Commerce Committee.

Sally R. Peltz of Wisconsin is a Special Assistant to the President of the Medical College of Wisconsin. Previously, she was an Associate Clinical Professor in the Department of Family practice and the School of Nursing. Ms. Peltz has served on the board of a variety of associations, including the Mental Health Association of Wisconsin, the AIDS Resource Center of Wisconsin, Inc., Planned Parenthood of Wisconsin, the Task Force on Battered Women and Children and the American Jewish Committee.

Edna Louise Saffy of Florida is a Professor of Speech and Oral Communication at Florida Community College at Jacksonville South Campus. She has served on a variety of boards, including the Ritz Theatre Historic Restoration Board, Karpeles Museum Board, Hubbard House Shelter for Abused Women and the National Leadership Council of Arab American Institute. Dr. Saffy is a leader in the community and is involved in a number of political, social, and artistic endeavors.

Bettylu K. Saltzman of Illinois is North American vice president of the New Israel Fund, a member of the Board of Trustees of Mount Sinai Hospital Medical Center, vice president of the Jewish Council on Urban Affairs and founder/director of the Women's Issues Network. In addition, she is vice president of Business and Professional People for the Public Interest, a public interest law firm.

Carol T. Toussaint of Wisconsin is a Senior Associate with the firm Hayes Briscoe Associates, and is the owner of Vantage Point, Lecture Subscription Series. In addition, she is a fund development consultant to nonprofit organizations, and a member of both the International Women's and Wisconsin Women's Forum. Previously, she served as Secretary of the Department of Local Affairs and Development for Wisconsin, President of the League of Women Voters of Wisconsin, and Vice President of the League of Women Voters of the United States.

The Advisory Committee on the Arts of the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts is charged with advising and consulting with the Board of Trustees for the Center. The Committee makes recommendations to the Board regarding existing and prospective cultural activities to be featured at the Center. In addition, the members of the committee assist in the Center's capital campaign and act as liaisons to performance groups and performing arts centers throughout the nation. The staff and budget for the Advisory Committee are determined and allocated by the management of the Kennedy Center.