View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release March 1, 1995

February 28, 1995

                                     Presidential Determination
                                     No.        95-15          


  SUBJECT:       Certifications for Major Narcotics Producing and 
                 Transit Countries

By virtue of the authority vested in me by section 490(b)(1)(A) of the Foreign Assistance Act of 1961, as amended, ("the Act"), I hereby determine and certify that the following major drug producing and/or major drug transit countries/dependent territories have cooperated fully with the United States, or taken adequate steps on their own, to achieve full compliance with the goals and objectives of the 1988 United Nations Convention Against Illicit Traffic in Narcotic Drugs and Psychotropic Substances:

       The Bahamas, Brazil, China, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, 
       Guatemala, Haiti, Hong Kong, India, Jamaica, Laos, 
       Malaysia, Mexico, Panama, Taiwan, Thailand, Venezuela, 
       and Vietnam.

By virtue of the authority vested in me by section 490(b)(1)(B) of the Act, I hereby determine that it is in the vital national interests of the United States to certify the following countries:

Bolivia, Colombia, Lebanon, Pakistan, Paraguay, and Peru.

Information on these countries, as required under section 490(b)(3) of the Act, is attached.

I have determined that the following major producing and/or major transit countries do not meet the standards set forth in section 490(b):

Afghanistan, Burma, Iran, Nigeria, and Syria.

I have made these determinations, taking into account the factors set forth in section 490 of the Act, and based on the information contained in the International Narcotics Control Strategy Report of 1995. Because the performance of these countries varies, I have attached an explanatory statement in each case.

You are hereby authorized and directed to report this determination to the Congress immediately and to publish it in the Federal Register.


# # #