View Header

Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release February 14, 1995

     President Clinton today announced his intent to name seven more

members of the thirty member Advisory Committee for the 1995 White House Conference on Aging. This brings the total number of appointed members to 29. The Advisory Committee will provide advice for planning, conducting, and reviewing the Conference as well as prioritizing the Conference resolutions to be given to Congress and the President.

The 1995 White House Conference on Aging will take place May 2-5 at the Washington Hilton in Washington, D.C. It will be the culmination of over 700 grass- roots events held across the country and will bring 2259 delegates from all 50 states and three territories together to help craft a national aging policy for the next decade.

The Advisory Committee, comprised of experts in the field of aging, is required by the Older Americans Act Amendments of 1992, which authorizes the White House Conference on Aging. A list of the newly named Advisory Committee members follows:

Liz Carpenter of Texas was Chief of Staff and the Press Secretary for Lady Bird Johnson. Elsie Frank of Massachusetts is President of the Massachusetts Association of Older Americans, Inc. and the Advisory Council to the Commission on Affairs of the Elderly of Boston.

Anita Freedman of New Hampshire is Commissioner of the Portsmouth Housing Authority and Secretary for the New Hampshire Democratic Party.

Elinor Guggenheimer of New York is Director of the Council of Senior Centers and Services of New York City. Daniel P. Perry of Virginia is Founder and Executive Director of the Alliance for Aging Research, Inc. Ruth Shepherd of Oregon is Founder and President of Oregon Generations Together, Inc. a non-profit corporation.

James T. Sykes of Wisconsin is Chairman of the Board of the National Council on Aging and the Associate Director of the Institute on Aging at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.