View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release January 27, 1995

President Clinton today announced his intent to appoint the first twenty-two members of the thirty member Advisory Committee for the 1995 White House Conference on Aging. The Advisory Committee will provide advice for planning, conducting, and reviewing the Conference as well as prioritizing the conference resolutions to be given to Congress and the President.

The 1995 White House Conference on Aging will take place May 2-5 at the Washington Hilton in Washington, D.C. It will be the culmination of over 700 grass- roots events held across the country and will bring 2250 delegates from all 50 states and three territories together to help craft a national aging policy for the next decade.

The Advisory Committee, comprised of experts in the field of aging, is required by the Older Americans Act Amendments of 1992, which authorizes the White House Conference on Aging. A list of the named Advisory Committee members follows.

Dr. James E. Birren is an associate Director of the UCLA Center on Aging at the Multicampus Program of Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology.

David K. Brown is the Director of the West Virginia Office of Aging and is responsible for administering the Older Americans Act, Medicaid Waiver and Foster Grandparent Program.

Dr. Robert Butler founded the National Institute on Aging of the National Institutes of Health and helped establish the U.S.-Japan International Leadership Center on Longevity and Society.

Karyl Eckles is principal research associate for long-term care issues related to disability and aging for the World Institute on Disability.

Rev. Charles J. Fahey is the Senior Associate for the Third Age Center at Fordham University in New York.

Dr. Evelynn C. Gioiella is the Dean of the Hunter-Bellevue School of Nursing.

Lou Glasse is the National President of the Older Women's League.

Ed Haas is the Executive Director of the White River Area Agency on Aging.

Henry Jay Hannigan is the Senior partner in the law firm of Hannigan and Ehreshman.

James Santiago Hena is the Chairman of the All Indian Pueblo Council and a member of the Tribal Operations Committee of the Environmental Protection Agency.

Carmela Lacayo is the President/CEO of Asociacion Nacional Pro Personas Mayores (National Association for Hispanic Elderly).

John E. Lyle is the Chairman of the Federal Council on Aging.

Martha A. McSteen is the President of the National Committee to Preserve Social Security and Medicare.

Mary Mulvey is the co-founder and Vice President of the National Council of Senior Citizens.

Ron Pollack is the Executive Director of Families U.S.A., the national consumer group fighting for health and long-term care reform.

Steve Protulis is the Coordinator of Senior Affairs for the AFL-CIO National COPE Department.

Eugene Rinaldi is the manager of the Sixty Plus Services program of St. Joseph Healthcare System and the President of the New Mexico Hispanic Council on Aging.

Teresa Scannell is the Director of Generations United, a National Coalition on Intergenerational Issues and Programs.

Dr. E. Percil Stanford is the Director of the National Resource Center on Minority Aging Populations housed at San Diego State University.

Jeanette C. Takamura is the Director of the Hawaii Office on Aging.

Dr. Eric G. Tangalos is an Associate Professor of Medicine at the Mayo Clinic Medical School.

Don Watanabe is the Executive Director of the National Asian Pacific Center on Aging.