View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release January 20, 1995
                        FOREIGN SCHOLARSHIP BOARD

The President today announced his intent to appoint the following individuals to the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board:

Harriet Mayor Fulbright of the District of Columbia is the President for the Center for Arts in the Basic Curriculum, a nonprofit organization committed to arts integrated curriculum development and the urgent need for school reform. From 1988 to 1992, Mrs. Fulbright was Coordinator for the Washington Area Senior Fulbright Program and was Executive Director of the Fulbright Association from 1987 to 1990. Additional experience includes work as the Executive Secretary of the twenty-sixth International Congress of the History of Art at the National Gallery of Art from 1983 to 1987; Assistant Director of the Alliance of Independent Colleges of Art from 1981 to 1983; Assistant Director of the Congressional Arts Caucus from 1981 to 1983; and Chairman of the Art Department of the Maret School in Washington, D.C. from 1975 to 1981. Mrs. Fulbright earned her B.A. from Radcliffe College and an M.F.A. from George Washington University. Mrs. Fulbright will replace Dr. Mark N. Blitz on the Board.

Alan H. Schechter of Massachusetts is a Professor of Political Science at Wellesley College, specializing in American constitutional issues. For the past thirty-three years, Dr. Schechter has taught at Wellesley College, serving as an Instructor from 1962 to 1964; an Assistant Professor from 1964 to 1970; an Associate Professor from 1970 to 1976; and as a Professor from 1976 to the present. From 1970 to 1976 and from 1979 to 1982, Dr. Schechter served as Chairman of the Department of Political Science, and was Acting Chairman of the American Studies Program in 1990. He has been the recipient of numerous honors and awards, including a Fulbright Scholarship and a Ford Foundation Fellowship, and is the author of several books, articles and reports. Dr. Schechter received a B.A. from Amherst College in 1957 and a Ph.D. from Columbia University in 1965. Dr. Schechter will replace Dr. Daniel Pipes on the Board.

Caroline A. Matano Yang, of Hawaii, is the former Executive Director and Advisor of the Japan-United States Educational Commission. During her 22 years with the Commission, the Japan program was especially noted for its rapid growth and fundraising by its alumni association. The Japanese alumni, comprised of 11 associations in Japan and New York City, have contributed funding to create over 150 additional Fulbright grants to Americans. Ms. Yang serves on the Boards of the America-Japan Society in Tokyo, the Kanagawa Foundation for Academic and Cultural Exchange, and the Ryoichi Sasakawa Young Leaders Fellowship Fund. She was also the Japan Representative of the Institute for International Education in New York. Ms. Yang, who attended Roosevelt High School and the University of Hawaii, earned a B.A. from Smith College and an M.A. from Michigan State University. Ms. Yang will replace Ms. Katherine Super on the Board.

The J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board selects students, scholars and teachers to participate in educational exchanges. Approximately 4,700 new grants are awarded to individuals annually through the U.S. Information Agency. The Fulbright Program funds academic studies, research and other educational activities, both for American citizens and for citizens of foreign countries. The program also promotes American studies in foreign countries and foreign language training and area studies in the United States and abroad. The Fulbright Program will celebrate its 50th anniversary in 1996.