View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release November 14, 1994

President Clinton today announced his intention to appoint David H. Swinton, Adele Simmons, Bobby Charles Simpson and Chang-Lin Tien to the National Commission for Employment Policy.

David H. Swinton of South Carolina is the President of Benedict College, a small, predominantly African-American college in Columbia, South Carolina. Previously, he was the Dean of the School of Business and Professor of Economics at Jackson State University in Mississippi. He has also served on the Labor Subcommittee of the Southern Governors Association. Mr. Swinton earned a B.A. in economics from New York University, and both an M.A. and a Ph.D. in economics from Harvard.

Adele Simmons of Illinois is President of the MacArthur Foundation. Prior to joining the Foundation, she was President of Hampshire College. Ms. Simmons has also held teaching and academic posts at Princeton University, Tufts College, and Jackson College.

Bobby Charles Simpson of Arkansas has served as the Director of the Arkansas Division of Rehabilitative Services since 1989. He served as the Executive Director of the Austin Resource Center for Independent Living in Austin, Texas. From 1978 to 1980, Mr. Simpson served as Director of the Texas Jaycee Campus of Victoria College of the Warm Springs Rehabilitation Hospital. In addition, he served as the Director of Psychology and Social Services Department of the Warm Springs Hospital. Mr. Simpson was also an Instructor at Victoria College in Gonzaga, Texas. From 1974 to 1975, he served as Interim Director of Rehabilitation for Goodwill Industries of Lubbock, Texas.

Chang-Lin Tien of California is Chancellor of the University of California at Berkeley, the first Asian- American to head a major research university in the United States. He served previously as the University's Vice Chancellor for Research, and chaired the Department of Mechanical Engineering and Thermal Systems.

The National Commission for Employment Policy was established in order to examine the development, coordination, and administration of employment and training programs, and to advise the President and the Congress on national employment and training issues.