View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release October 19, 1994


The President today declared a major disaster exists in the State of Georgia and ordered federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe weather, heavy rains, flooding, high winds and tornadoes on October 1, 1994, and continuing.

"My heart is with the people of Georgia," the President said. "I admire their courageous work in repairing their communities from the floods this summer, and my thoughts are with them as they battle these latest forces of nature," the President said.

The President's action makes federal funds available to affected individuals in a six county area. The counties include Bryan, Camden, Chatham, Decatur, Grady and Tift Counties.

Assistance can include disaster housing, grants, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other program to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

James L. Witt, Director of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), named Glenn C. Woodward of FEMA's regional office in Atlanta, Georgia to coordinate federal recovery operations in the affected area.

The Agency said that damage surveys are continuing in the other areas, and additional counties may be added after the assessments are completed.

The Agency said that residents and business owners who sustained losses in the designated counties can begin applying for assistance immediately by calling 1-800-462-9029, or 1-800-462-7585 (TDD) for the hearing and speech impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. (CT) seven days a week until further notice.

For additional information, contact FEMA at 202-646-4600.