View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release October 5, 1994


President Clinton today announced his intention to appoint thirteen members to the Advisory Committee for Trade Policy and Negotiations.

The Committee is responsible for providing overall policy advice on matters concerning objectives and bargaining positions before entering into a trade agreement, the operation of any trade agreement once entered into, and other matters arising in connection with trade policy of the United States. Staff and administrative support for the Committee are provided by the Office of the U.S. Trade Representative.

The thirteen apointees are:

Robert Allen of New York, Chairman of the Board of AT&T.

Edwin L. Artzt of Ohio, Chief Executive Officer of Procter & Gamble.

Owen Bieber of Michigan, President of the UAW. He is also a Vice-President and Executive Council member of the AFL-CIO.

Robert J. Eaton of Michigan, Chief Executive Officer of Chrysler.

George M. C. Fisher of New York , Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer of Eastman Kodak.

Kathryn S. Fuller of the District of Columbia , Chief Executive Officer of the World Wildlife Fund.

George Harris of Connecticut , Chairman of Harris Chemical Group, Inc.

Jerry Junkins of Texas , Chief Executive Officer of Texas Instruments.

Rhoda Karpatkin of New York , President of Consumers Union.

J. Bruce Llewellyn of Pennsylvania, Chairman of Philadelphia Coca-Cola Bottling Company.

Jack Valenti of New York, Chief Executive Officer of the Motion Picture Association of America.

Linda J. Wachner of New York, Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer of Warnaco, Inc.

Andrew Young of Georgia, former Ambassador to the United Nations and former Mayor of Atlanta.