View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release September 16, 1994
                        FOR BUILDING SCIENCES

President Clinton today announced his intention to nominate Howard Terry Rasco of Arkansas, Christine Warnke and Mary Ellen R. Fise of the District of Columbia and Steve M. Hays of Tennessee as members of the Board of Directors of the National Institute for Building Sciences.

Mr. Rasco is a partner in the architectural firm of Witsell, Evans and Rasco. He is a former president of the Arkansas Architectural Licensing Board and an active member of the American Institute of Architects.

Dr. Warnke is a governmental affairs advisor with Hogan & Hartson. She has extensive experience in the fields of environmental and energy technology. She holds a B.S. in housing and design, an M.S. in community development and urban planning, and a Ph.D. in American Studies.

Ms. Fise is the product safety director of the Consumer Federation of America. She is also a co-chair of the Home & Product Safety and Indoor Air Quality Committees for the Coalition for Consumer Health Safety. She was one of the finalists to be a commissioner of the Consumer Product Safety Commission.

Mr. Hays is chairman of Gobbell Hays Partners, Inc. He is a professional engineer specializing in asbestos abatement. Mr. Hays is also a member of the Policy Dialogue Committee which advises the Environmental Protection Agency on the regulation of asbestos-containing materials in public and commercial buildings.

The National Institute for Building Sciences is an independent, non-profit organization authorized by the Housing and Community Development Act of 1974. The mission of the institute is to improve the building regulatory environment, facilitate the introduction of new and existing products and technology into the building process, and disseminate nationally recognized technical and regulatory information.