View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release August 2, 1994

The President today announced his intent to nominate Eve L. Menger, Claudia Mitchell-Kernan, Diana S. Natalicio, Robert Solow, Warren Washington and John White to the National Science Board.

EVE L. MENGER of New York. Dr. Menger is Director of Technology Administration and Services for Corning, Inc. She was formerly a Professor of Chemistry at the University of California and Vice Provost and Professor at the University of Virginia.

CLAUDIA MITCHELL-KERNAN of California. Dr. Mitchell- Kernan is an anthropologist and Director of the Center for Afro-American Studies at UCLA. She is also Dean and Vice-Chancellor of Graduate Programs at UCLA and has been Professor of Anthropology and (Joint Psychiatry) since 1983. Dr. Mitchell-Kernan is famous for work in linguistic anthropology and for her work on Caribbean cultures and the mentally retarded.

DIANA S. NATALICIO of Texas. Dr. Natalicio is President of the University of Texas at El Paso, and a Professor of Languages and Linguistics. During her tenure as President, she has led the University of Texas at El Paso in an effort to graduate more minority students in engineering. The high level of success is reflected in the fact that the number of minority technical graduates is higher than any other American university.

ROBERT M. SOLOW of Massachusetts. Dr. Solow is Institute Professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. A world-class economist, he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Economic Science in 1987 and has been awarded a large number of honorary degrees and special recognitions around the world. He served on the Council of Economic Advisors (CEA) in the Kennedy Administration and has worked with the current Council on NAFTA and other issues.

WARREN M. WASHINGTON of Colorado, Dr. Washington is director of the Climate and Global Dynamics Division at the National Center for Atmospheric Research in Boulder, Colorado, and is currently President of the American Meteorological Society. He is also President of the Black Environmental Science Trust, a non-profit effort to increase the number of African Americans in the environmental sciences.

JOHN A. WHITE of Georgia. Dr. White is Dean of the College of Engineering, and Professor of Manufacturing at the Georgia Institute of Technology. A member of the National Academy of Engineering, he is well known for his extensive writings on industrial engineering and the manufacturing process. Dr. White has also served at the National Science Foundation as Assistant Director for Engineering (1988-1991) and as Acting Deputy Director in 1990 and 1991.