View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release July 29, 1994
                           FISHERY COMMISSION

     The President today announced his intent to appoint Bernard Hansen

as Commissioner; George Frampton as Federal Government Commissioner; and David Dempsey as Alternate Commissioner to the Great Lakes Fishery Commission: United States Section.

     BERNARD HANSEN of Illinois.   Mr. Hansen is 
     Alderman of Chicago's 44th Ward and Chairman of 
     the City Council Committee on Economic 

     GEORGE FRAMPTON of the District of Columbia.   Mr. 
     Frampton is the Assistant Secretary of the 
     Interior for Fish, Wildlife and Parks. 

     DAVID DEMPSEY of Michigan.  Mr. Dempsey is the 
     State Director of Clean Water Action, Michigan.  
     He previously served as Director of the Governor's 
     Council on Environmental Quality and as an 
     Environmental Advisor to Governor James Blanchard.

     The Commission was created in 1956 in order to administer a sea

lamprey control program for the Great Lakes. Such a program became necessary as a result of the elimination of the lake trout and salmon populations of the Great Lakes by the sea lamprey. In the fulfillment of its mission, the Commission seeks to find ways to control the sea lamprey population, and works with the states of the Great Lakes region to ensure that the Lakes are amply stocked with lake trout and salmon. The offices of the Commission are located in Ann Arbor, Michigan.

The United States members of the Commission are appointed by the President. Currently, there are two available positions on the Commission. Of these, one must be filled by an official of the federal government and one must be filled by a resident of a Great Lakes state. The Great Lakes States are Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania and Wisconsin.